Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great change from the traditional sweet potato holiday grind. Have made this with less milk with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBABYAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe got rave reviews at Thanksgiving. It's a nice twist on mashed sweet pototoes. I used 1/2 canned pears and 1/2 Anjou pears. Instead of OJ I used the pear juice leftover in the can. Easy and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I cut this in half and still had plenty for four, now have 3 servings frozen. It was very tasty, I made it as a dry run for turkey day. Will definately make again, but may use less sugar since it seemed plenty sweet when I had just added the pear. Kids loved it. I left the potatoes slightly lumpy and just mashed the pear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Easy and tasty! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. There were many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Yummy! I toasted the walnuts prior to adding them to the mashed potatoes to give an extra nutty taste: it was so good I didn't even add sugar! Next time, I might use one or two extra pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Hrm...just didn't like the flavor all that much. I didn't puree the pears, just cooked them until quite soft. Kind of disappointed...all that work and I would have rather just eaten a sweet potato with butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I was going to give this 3 stars but my guy liked it more than I did. I didn't like it at all until I decided to add a lot more brown sugar. You do taste the pears and it has an interesting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This is very good! I'll probably throw in just a little more cinnamon and nutmeg next time. Also works with marshmallows baked on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Delicious! This was a piece of cake to make. I tossed the potatoes in my stand mixer to whip them, added the sauce, added the other ingredients and the cooked pears, turned on medium high and we were all set. This was very easy to make, and very good to eat! My two year old loved it, as did my in-laws. We'll definitely have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe. A little different from the standard "sweet potatoe casserole". Delicious! The pears really give this dish a wonderful flavor - I even used canned pears, and instead of OJ, I used some of the reserved liquid from the can of pears. So good! (If you must, you can even throw some marshmallows on top for those marshmallow loyalists!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States