Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. These sweet potatoes are delicious! I have made them several times now. I was nervous initially about making them after reading the varying reviews here - some saying too sweet, some saying not sweet enough, too much nutmeg, etc. I think the trick is (and the beauty of this recipe)to mix up the potatoes with the butter then add half of the sugar, nutmeg and orange juice called for. Then taste it. Then add up to the second half to correct it to your taste. The other great thing about this recipe is that I always make it the day before. I cover it and refrigerate it in the serving dish without the marshmallows. I reheat it on the day I need it then add the marshmallows and toast them under the broiler. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This was an excellent treat. I even shortcutted using "Bruce's" canned sweet potatoes! Ideal for anyone on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This is a very very good traditional casserole, but because sweet potatoes vary greatly in size, mine ended up under-spiced because they were huge, so watch out and make sure your potatoes are spicy enough. It was still tasty. This is the perfect recipe for a traditional casserole. However, I think if you combine it with the "Eggless Sweet Potato Casserole" recipe, it becomes something that is the ultimate sweet potato dish. I used the technique of whipping the potatoes (genius!). I don't think it matters too much which spice scheme you use as long as there is enough spice (The eggless recipe results in sweeter sweet potatoes). I then made the pecan topping from the other recipe and added it to the top. I cooked it according to the other directions for a while ( because the pecan topping takes time to cook, then I added marshmellows like this recipe has, and it was perfect for my tastes. When I comined the two recipes, it turned out a lot like Boston Market sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was fantastic! Everyone loved it. Only comment was that I made it a day in advance and then went to bake it for 10 minutes before serving with marshmallows on top. That was wrong because it was cold from the refrigerator and threw off the heating. What would have been better is to have left off marshmallows, warm up first, then add them for 10 more minutes. They just got a little darker, and almost burnt, since I had to leave it longer to heat up. But it was still delicious, and some people said they liked the over-cooked version better anyway. Still 5 star receipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I made this recipe at Christmas and everyone loved it! They asked how I got the sweet potatoes so creamy. I had 2 people call and ask for the recipe later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Yum! Delicious without being too sweet like traditional sweet potato casseroles. The OJ was perfect. Just a tip on "peeling" potatoes...cut potato in half, boil for 20 minutes then squeeze potato out of skin, magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I just made this for Christmas dinner. Everyone loved it. I even used "Bruce's" canned sweet potatoes to save time. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
My husband hates sweet potatoes and only tried these to make me happy....then went back for seconds! Added about a teaspoon of cinnamon and upped the nutmeg to a teaspoon as well. Topped with brown sugar, melted butter, and pecans and then baked for 30 minutes. Topped with marshmallows and baked till golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is an easy recipe. My kids enjoyed it. I did't use marshmallows. But i did use can sweet potato for a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I used a 40 oz. can of sweet potatoes. This is a VERY sweet dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States