Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is a very good recipe. A nice change from the really sweet, sweet potato recipes. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I loved loved this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I really loved this recipe! I will be making this again. I might try putting some pecans in I the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I added a dash of cayenne pepper that give it a little extra kick to make it a huge hit at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This recipe needs salt. There has to be enough salt to bring out the flavor and temper the sweetness a bit. I kept adding pinches of salt to the whipped mixture until it tasted right (for me). I ended up using about 1 teaspoon, but your mileage may vary. With the added salt, this recipe was excellent, and I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I added cream cheese frosting... AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Made this as written, for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it! It was the only dish that had no leftovers, it was eaten up! This will be my recipe for Sweet Potatoes, and I not waiting for Thanksgiving to make it again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It was good - I put in too much orange juice though. A little orange juice goes a long way in this recipe. I used big marshmallows cut in half, and they didn't work well. It's best to use the mini marshmallows. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is almost my grandmother's recipe. I don't add the butter or nutmeg. We do serve them in orange halves and this makes for an elegant presentation. Look for thick skinned oranges, Scoop out the orange pulp with a teaspoon, save for the juice I use most of it in the mix. I bake the sweet potatoes in the microwave. scoop out, mix as noted above to taste, scoop mix into halves and cook in halves at 350 for 15-20minutes, top with marshmallows (Grandma said three for adults and cover for the kids) cook for another 5-10 minutes until the marshmallow are lightly toasted. About 2 med oranges per 1# fresh uncooked sweet potatoes. Folks always rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This dish was an instant family favorite. It was very light in texture and not too sweet compared to most typical southern sweet potato casseroles that we are used to. As another reviewer suggested: taste it as you go. Add only half the sugar, oj and nutmeg. I did this helpful hint (thanks MomTo6) and found I liked the recipe as written but I felt the need to add a little cinnamon. We love spices so the cinnamon and nutmeg were a hit in this dish. We will make this every year. Thank you for the recipe Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxFoodFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States