Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. I used ramekins instead of a casserole dish and filled each ramekin 1/2 full and made seven ramekins. They are rich and sweet so the size was perfect. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 and it was plenty. The marshmallows melted into almost nothing, so don't overcook and you can add extra marshmallows. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gecko1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I increased the recipe to feed 12 & I liked the idea of individual servings so well that I copied allrecipes. ;o) I used large ramekins for the adults & small ramekins for teh kids & then served them on antique china dessert plates. I didn't fill them all the way up so I could really load on the marshmallows. I also sprinkled some chopped walnuts on before topping w/ the marshmallows. These tasted great & looked even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Great recipe! I made it with canned sweet potatoes. Thought I made too much (used 3- 40 oz cans)and we would be eating leftovers forever after Thanksgiving. But everyone wanted to take home the leftovers! They loved it! So quick and easy. It was like a yummy dessert. Will absolutely make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I don't even usually like sweet potatoes and even I liked it! My family devoured it and wanted the recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Yummy! Super simple to make even for a first effort! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I used a little less brown sugar and added some rum-soaked raisins to vary the texture. It was a treat and everyone asked for it at the next family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
We found this recipe to be way too sweet for our tastes. I guess marshmallows just don't fit into our family's menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Pretty good recipe. I only put 1/8 tsp of nutmeg but it was really strong. Im not a huge fan of nutmeg so next time I might omit it. I also added 3 tablespoons of butter instead of 2 to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I don't like sweet potatoes in general, so I am somewhat biased in my review. However, I have tried one or two recipes in the past that I have really liked - plus my husband likes sweet potatoes, so I gave this recipe a try. Somehow it didn't turn out how I expected. Husband thought it was OK, and I didn't care for it much. Texture was not right and I thought it too sweet. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
These were wonderful. I made these as a side to the Tangy Honey glazed ham, and they were a wonderful accompaniment. The hint of orange juice complimented the tangy flavor of the ham. I usually use maple syrup to sweeten yams, but I think this combo of OJ and brown sugar is better. I will make these whenever I make whipped sweet potatoes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOU2U1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States