Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is almost my grandmother's recipe. I don't add the butter or nutmeg. We do serve them in orange halves and this makes for an elegant presentation. Look for thick skinned oranges, Scoop out the orange pulp with a teaspoon, save for the juice I use most of it in the mix. I bake the sweet potatoes in the microwave. scoop out, mix as noted above to taste, scoop mix into halves and cook in halves at 350 for 15-20minutes, top with marshmallows (Grandma said three for adults and cover for the kids) cook for another 5-10 minutes until the marshmallow are lightly toasted. About 2 med oranges per 1# fresh uncooked sweet potatoes. Folks always rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This dish was an instant family favorite. It was very light in texture and not too sweet compared to most typical southern sweet potato casseroles that we are used to. As another reviewer suggested: taste it as you go. Add only half the sugar, oj and nutmeg. I did this helpful hint (thanks MomTo6) and found I liked the recipe as written but I felt the need to add a little cinnamon. We love spices so the cinnamon and nutmeg were a hit in this dish. We will make this every year. Thank you for the recipe Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is the dish my kids request every year for thanksgiving. I back off on the sugar a little sometimes since there are marshmallows, but always add a 1/4 stick of butter to help the flavor, otherwise it tastes a little too sickening sweet. And if you're not getting much fat from other places in your meal, the butter fat helps you absorb all that great Vitamin A in the sweet potato! I use canned sweet potatoes if I'm short on time, which does add sugar to the dish, so back off on sugar if using canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Fabulous! The orange juice is a wonderful addition. My daughter made a crunchy pecan topping which added a bit of yummy crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Fantastic - swapped the marshmallow topping for a mix of 2 tbsp melted butter, some crushed Total cereal and a little brown sugar. Even my non-sweet potato eating husband liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CallMeBetty
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I upped the recipe to make for 20 and used canned to save me from peeling 8 lbs of sweet potatoes. Loved it! Would like to try cinnamon in it and a few nuts. I think this is good as it's written as well as being a great base to add according to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StamperDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe was simple and delicious! I added in 1 tbsp of vanilla extract and a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the recipe also. YUMM!I want nuts with the marshmallows on top as well-my family was all skeptical to eat sweet potatoes....NOW they love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Awesome! I added all spice and cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
My huband and I didn't really care for this. It just seemed to be missing something. I may try adding cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I use canned sweet potatoes - quick, easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States