Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Shortbread is my husband's favorite cookie. I have always used a different recipe but was unable to find it and had promised to make them. This recipe ROCKS! This cookie truly meets the definition of melt in your mouth! They are way better than the recipe I had been using and I will never go back. These are the best shortbread cookies ever. Note: we don't care for marichino cherries, so they were topped with chocolate melts. Yum! They are extremely delicate though. I don't know how well they will hold up to the stress of transport or being included in a holiday gift plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtMoonKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I thought these were pretty yummy. They are super easy and quick to make too. The recipe yielded 28 cookies with a standard cookie scoop. I was surprised that a cherry cut into 4 was enough of a piece for each cookie, but it was. I think, they would be good with the almonds like in the picture. As they are so soft, some competing texture would be nice. These would look pretty on a Christmas tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I like to think of myself as a pretty good cook, but when it comes to baking I am terrible. I love shortbread cookies but find them exspensive. So when I found this recipe I was hoping, and wow! THANK YOU! They were great and very easy for me. Thats my kind of baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The best whipped shortbread cookies ever! Bet u can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Love this recipe! It's so easy that I can make it with my 2yr old. They key is to mix it until your arm hurts and use parchment paper to avoid burning. I've substituted butter with margerine and shortning and they were still delicicous. Have also added various extracts and food colouring and the cookies still turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have to say the only thing I did different was sift the flour and sugar and then just beat it on slow till it was all combined and then switched to full speed for about 10 minutes and then baked them and walla perfection. These will definitely be a staple cookie in my home :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Delicious! I followed the reviews and whipped for a total of 20 minutes. Melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome, awesome, awesome is all I have to say!!! The texture of these cookies is heavenly! I leave out the cherry though and either dip half in dark chocolate or else make a thumbprint and fill with raspberry jam...but they are terrific as is too! I also took the first reviewers tip and whipped the butter for 5 minutes and whipping between the sugar and flour additions. Stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe but I had to add a little more confectioners sugar because it wasn't fluffy enough. Also the key is to whip them for a long time, until superrrr fluffy. I've made this recipe many times, just had to find it here to refresh my memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
HELP! I actually got this exact same recipe from my mom who made these every year. She told me the secret is in the whipping. At least 10 minutes is the key. They are my husband's favorites so I made a double batch and followed her directions which are the same as these here. I knew they were fragile from when my mom made them but mine are so bad that you can't even pick them up. They crumble to bits. I whipped the dough up in my Kitchen Aid for 10 minutes and dropped the dough onto parchment paper covered baking sheets. I guess one small change I made was baking them on the convect setting at 325 instead. (Manufacturer recommends reducing the heat by 25 degrees when using convect instead of bake.) Oh oh. Now that I stop and think about it I measured then sifted the flour and confectioners sugar using a wire sieve. So double recipe, Kitchen Aid, oven temp and sifting were my four differences. None of which I would have suspected would be detrimental to the recipe. Any advice/sugggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am not even going to remove the remaining batches from the cookie sheets. I am going to put them in the freezer then remove them from the sheets after they are frozen. Maybe we'll have to eat them half frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States