Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Awesome, awesome, awesome is all I have to say!!! The texture of these cookies is heavenly! I leave out the cherry though and either dip half in dark chocolate or else make a thumbprint and fill with raspberry jam...but they are terrific as is too! I also took the first reviewers tip and whipped the butter for 5 minutes and whipping between the sugar and flour additions. Stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe but I had to add a little more confectioners sugar because it wasn't fluffy enough. Also the key is to whip them for a long time, until superrrr fluffy. I've made this recipe many times, just had to find it here to refresh my memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
HELP! I actually got this exact same recipe from my mom who made these every year. She told me the secret is in the whipping. At least 10 minutes is the key. They are my husband's favorites so I made a double batch and followed her directions which are the same as these here. I knew they were fragile from when my mom made them but mine are so bad that you can't even pick them up. They crumble to bits. I whipped the dough up in my Kitchen Aid for 10 minutes and dropped the dough onto parchment paper covered baking sheets. I guess one small change I made was baking them on the convect setting at 325 instead. (Manufacturer recommends reducing the heat by 25 degrees when using convect instead of bake.) Oh oh. Now that I stop and think about it I measured then sifted the flour and confectioners sugar using a wire sieve. So double recipe, Kitchen Aid, oven temp and sifting were my four differences. None of which I would have suspected would be detrimental to the recipe. Any advice/sugggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am not even going to remove the remaining batches from the cookie sheets. I am going to put them in the freezer then remove them from the sheets after they are frozen. Maybe we'll have to eat them half frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is the best recipe I have found. They melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieMillette

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are absolutely amazing. I did what another reviewer suggested and whipped the butter for 5 minutes first, and added the sugar and flour mixture in a bit at a time, and whipped for 1-2 minutes after each addition. This resulted in a literal melt in your mouth cookie that my fiance described as "If I took a bite out of a cloud, this is what I imagine it would be like." So, weird endorsement, but these are wonderful cookies, easy to make, and I will most definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are a family fav and I've been making them for about 4 years now exact recipe. I usually use margarine though and they are still just as good. I don't usually beat them for as long as it says maybe only 5 minutes with my kitchenaid. We keep ours in the freezer so they don't dry out and crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Melt in your mouth yummy! I had to take the cookies out of the oven at 10 minutes or they started to burn. I added candy cane bits instead of maraschino cherries and that worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
So easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Hrušková

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
easy! i piped them with a icing bag with a fancy end and they were pretty. turned out good. i also drizzled chocolate on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These are delicious. I only baked for 9 minutes and they were very brown on the bottom already. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and whipped the butter for 5 mins with the icing sugar before adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States