Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Have used this recipe with both butter and margarine, both turned out perfect but still prefer using butter. There is nothing that tastes better than real butter, quality is important when you are treating your family! I opened up this site for the recipe which I have used for the past few years and, lo and behold, exactly one year ago to the day was the last time I looked for it! Highly recommend this one, best of all the whipped shortbread recipes, bar none.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These are amazing! I followed Kathleen's suggested beating times and I NEVER bake without parchment paper! These are great as the recipe is but I wanted to try something different - so in the last minute of beating time I added 1 cup of chopped milk chocolate and 1/2 cup skor bits. YUMMY! This recipe is now a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made these little "JEMS" today.They are by far the best butter cookie created! The recipe called for whipping for 10 min.'s,, I tried that for a couple of min.and decided to knead the dough instead. Perfect results. I didn't add cherries just made them plain... Next time and there will be many next times, I will add preserves in the middle. These are #1 YAYYYYYY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newberrrys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
These are very delicate, melt in your mouth cookies! My friends raved about them. They are extremely tender and, therefore, not good for mailing.... no matter, you'll want to eat them all yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mormonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
These are the best, most delicious melt in your mouth butter cookies I've ever made. I mix them by hand and the dough is less fluffy but the result is the same as beating them with the mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilymarie
Home Town: Corozal, Corozal, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Followed Kathy's recommendations about whipping and these truly melt in your mouth. Added almond extract after creaming butter, but before adding sugar. I was concerned about the frailty issues, so I refrigerated them for an hour before I scooped them out with a small ice cream scoop. This allowed me to have them in a mound, to which I added a thumbprint and seedless raspberry jam, but I only got 24 cookies that way. Might try to add some butter flavoring next time, just to try to kick up the butter flavor a bit. Allow to cool thoroughly, and use parchment paper. Still fragile, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Good basic recipe, whipped my completely soft butter for 5 mins before adding dry ingredients. Cookies came out soft & melty but with a slight floury taste. Next time will use 1/4 cup more icing sugar for little more sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Yet another sparkling review... I was petrified to make these because I am in Montana **HIGH ALTITUDE** and my cookies (especially store-bought dough log) always turn out like puddles because of the altitude. But I gave it a shot and instead of adding more flour to the dough right off the bat, as one could do to make cookies stand up to HA baking, I decided to make the batch as suggested and then bake a test cookie to see if the extra flour was needed. Well I rolled the dough into a little ball and made a well for some blueberry jam, baked it for 10 minutes at about 325 and it came out perfect!! With some powdered sugar on top it you really don't miss the fact that this is not a super sweet cookie. I am so happy this worked, thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
3 and a half stars the flavor of these cookies is to die for after you add some vanilla. unfortunately they are so delicate that when i went to put them away in a container three quarters of them broke so now i have a container of shortbread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States