Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I piped them into little rosettes - they're so cute. Really delicate, so next time I'll make them smaller (one bite). I also used unsalted butter and wish I had added a bit of salt to the batter. Overall, fun to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These are some of the easiest and best tasting shortbread! I did as some suggested and whipped the butter on it's own first, then added the sugar and whipped that, and then added the flour 1/2 a cup at a time, and whipped after each addition. Then whipped the final mix for about 5 more minutes. I baked them at 325 for about 10 minutes and they came out so amazing I'm wishing I had made a double batch. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Very easy to make and delicious!! Melts in your mouth. I omitted the cherries as I didn't have any on hand, but I did add some green food coloring to the mix to make them Christmasy....turned out great!! Mmmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arcadia, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
A really good, not so sweet yet yummy treat. I followed this exactly and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Dee-VINE! Well after I omit the cherry 'bizness' and instead, I dip the bottoms into melted WHITE (not milk, not dark TRUST ME!) chocolate... When made this way, they are the BEST cookie evah! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My Mom used to make the best whipped shortbread cookies and when she passed away a few years ago I thought I would never have them again. Then I found this recipe! They melt in your mouth and are SO easy to make! I did do a couple of things to make them more like Mom's...I added 1 tsp of vanilla AND added 1/2 cup chopped pecans and 1/2 cup diced red and green cherries RIGHT into the mixture at the VERY end of the whipping process. The nuts and cherries are throughout the cookie instead of just in the centre of it! They were DELICIOUS! I am bringing a platter of cookies to my boyfriends Mom's house for Christmas and I know that she is going to love them! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
The taste is 'melt in your mouth' good but they turned out so flat and thin that even when they cooled, I can't pick them up! They break into tiny (deliscious) pieces! Not sure how you all made such thick and rounded cookies as the above pictures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i make these very year and even though the batter is a royal pain to work with and even though it makes such a small batch, I never leave them out of my christmas cookie plates. Lighter than air, melt in your mouth, not too sweet; they are worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strasburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beach City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
OMG these are absolutely delicious !!!!!!! I did follow one of the ladies advice and I whipped the butter for 5 minutes then put in the confectioners sugar and whipped that with the butter for another 5 minutes and then put the flour in 3 parts for 2 minutes each except for the last one of the flour whipped it for 10 min. I was worried that these would fall apart but following these directions they did not butttt they were melt in the mouth good. These are officially my shortbread cookies recipe. Enjoy everyone and thank you so much for this recipe !!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I rated four for my changes but I would've likely rated the original as a five. I used margarine, added a touch of vanilla and more flour (due to the softness of margarine). The margarine didn't change them nearly as much as I thought it would. They're delicious but don't have that "you're eating straight butter" dairy taste. A very easy, good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States