Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these last week and they were AMAZING. One thing was that i found it to be too crumbly so i added, not even, 1 tablespoon of water and it got together right away. Overall an amazing recipe and my mom loved them. Going to make this again. no doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
When I was a young thing of 22 I ate these at my neighbor's. This is the best whipped shortbread. I lost it and was delighted to find it again. I didn't change a thing but did find out years ago that you never never over bake. There shouldn't be a hint of colour on these as you will have a cookied that turns to dust... crumbles easily. I like to put 1/2 of a red cherry in the middle with 1/4 of a green cherry on either side or the red. Or... I put a piece of pecan in the center with 1/4 of a cherry on either side. I must say that this is one cookie I always loved to eat frozen too. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
awsome recipe, did add 1/2 c flour, rolled them into little balls,dented them and added a bit of raspberry jam to each cookie, nummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great taste but make sure you make small cookies. I put a spoonful for each and they were just too dense. But other than that. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Falls apart to easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These cookies are light and they melt away in your mouth. I used one reviewer's instructions to whip the batter after each addition and we were awarded with some tasty morsels. I needed to have my oven set at 350*F to give the edges some colour. Thanks for posting William, this is the perfect size recipe for not wanting to indulge too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Delicious and easy thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Hubby and I love these cookies, a long time ago I had a simular recipe but lost it. I make these without the cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I omitted the cherries, as I didn't have any on hand. Also, I whipped 1 cup of salted butter by itself for 2 minutes on med speed with my kitchenaid, then I added the powdered sugar and 1 tsp vanilla and whipped it again for another 3 minutes. I added the flour, 2 level cups, all at once and whipped it for about for 3 more minutes. Then I added 1 TBS milk and I whipped the entire mixture for another 7 minutes, stopping only to scrape the sides of the bowl occasionally. I used a melon baller to shape the cookies and I baked them for 18 minutes at 350, until the bottoms were golden brown. I removed the cookies to a paper towel lined rack and dusted them with powdered sugar. They melt in your mouth. Even with the small size, this recipe only made about 3 dozen cookies. My advice is to double or triple the recipe. They will not last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great recipe. I agree with the previous comments for mixing time. I shape the dough into a rectangular brick shape about 2 inches wide and 1 inch high, wrap in wax paper, chill for about 1 hour and then slice it into 1/2 inch rectangular pieces and bake on parchment paper - turn out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States