Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Hi Uncle Bill! Very, very close to my Mom's recipe...you want to beat the batter at low speed, by my method and the cooking time might be reduced with the change in altitude (?) that mine do fine at 9 minutes, yes they might not be as brown and crispy, but rather "melt in your mouth", and I split the cherries in half, rather than quartering, but there you go...amusing to see us come this close with recipes and this one of yours won't be that far behind! John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The cookies came out so light and yummy! I halved the recipe but really wish I didn't because these cookies are so good! I added vanilla extract and omitted the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Wow! These are awesome! I didnt change anything except that we used colored sugar to decorate as I had no cherries. Definately the key was in the whipping. I whipped the butter first for about 3 or 4 minutes then slowly added the icing sugar over the course of a minute and whipped that for about 3 minutes. Then added flour a half cup at a time taking at least 3 min for each half then whipped for about another 4 or 5 minutes and wow...they are fantastic! I used a piping bag and made very small cookies about the size of a Canadian Toonie and because they were so small they needed only about 8 minutes in oven to get golden. First batch I over cooked slightly and they are still amazing! Thanks, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Love it, just melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I'm a vetran cookie maker and these didn't just melt in your mouth they crumbled into pieces before you could get them to your mouth and the taste bland without depth. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Absolutely delish according to my hubby, not to sweet, perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
this is a quick and easy recipe.It tasts great to. Also before i served thes cookies i put some wip cream on top.This gives it a cool and sweet crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
haven't tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent!!!! this was my first time making shortbread cookies these do melt in your mouth yummy! I did add some vanilla extract an a little extra powder sugar an drizzled chocolate over them i will be making these again!!!! next time im going to try and add 1/2 cup more flour just to see if my cookies hold their shape better wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States