Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These totally melt in your mouth. Next time I will add vanilla to it, then they would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
beat butter for 5 minutes, add sugar and beat for 5 more, add flour at 1/2 cup intervals and beat for 2 minutes each interval. perfection. piped them with a star tip, baked for 11 minutes at 175F and topped with a dollop of melted dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I didn't think they were that great at all. Won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is the most delicious shortbread out there! I have been looking for a recipe like this for a very long time. It's melt in your mouth buttery goodness. Obviously not the most healthy sweet treat but one of my absolute favorites. I followed the recommendation by kathleen with the constant whipping (this is key), however you can use margarine so don't be put off by the recipe if you don't have butter on hand. I have even tried this recipe with whole wheat flour and it was still great. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle_dimsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These are delicious! Made with butter they go all crumbly and melt in your mouth. I didn't have any marischino cherries so I put a teaspoon of strawberry jam or a few chocolate chips instead; which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by runsanity
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I loved this recipe, I DID end up adding about 1/4 cup extra flour, and about 2 tbsp extra confectioners sugar, just to make them stiff enough to hold up for thumbprint cookies. Rolled into balls lightly, thumbprinted. When they were done I filled half with homemade raspberry jam, and the other half with melted chocolate chips (mixed with a little heavy cream).When they cooled I dusted them lightly with shaved chocolate and confectioners sugar. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
these are the best, most melt-in-the-mouth cookie, they're more like a european Viennese biscuit than shortbread which is much heavier - they disappear really quickly around here and I'll be making LOTS more! I also followed the user who beat the butter first and total beating time must have been about 20 mins but the results are really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I have to agree with some of the reviews that said these cookies have a sand like texture. They crumble in your hand before it can even reach your mouth. It does melt in your mouth though but that's probably from all the butter and whipping. They are so fragile, I had my 2 year old eat this cookie outside because I didn't want "sand" all over the couch. For the amount of calories, I'm going to consume I want a better tasting cookie. Also my stand alone mixer, was really hot after whipping these cookies. It's a lot of work, not great tasting, not sweet enough and too fragile so I won't be making these again I will continue to look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
wow, these are sooo good! I didnt add any jam or anything, just made the cookies by themselves. Beating the butter first by itself is key. So good! possibly the best shortbread recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
AMAZING Shortbread, more like a drop cookie, incredible, the only thing I altered was instead of cherries I alternated between semi sweet nestle chocolate chips and crushed walnuts. I also put on a little granulated sugar after they were out of the oven. My batch only made 24 instead of the 36 mentioned, but that was based on size of spoonfuls. All in all, this has become my new shortbread recipe. My neighbours, friends and husband loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States