Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Laura Andrea Chong
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and the cookies are truly delicious. I followed some of the tips posted in other comments (like whipping the butter before adding the rest of the ingredients) and they came out beautiful and they taste better than they look. Thank you so much for the recipe and thanks Kathleen for the good tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Andrea Chong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe and it was amazing. My only problem was that if you put it in for the suggested time then they will burn (believe me) so my advice is just watch carefully and take them out of the oven when edges are golden brown. The way I did it was not exactly the way the recipe suggested because I didn't add the cherries in the middle, instead I shaped the dough using my Christmas cookie cutters and baked them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times and decided to try it again today. To my utter surprise, it worked! They didn't fall apart and they melted in your mouth. I whipped the butter then added the flour in two parts mixed and then added the sugar.I whipped until it was a sticky ball of dough. I think the reason they stayed together this time is that I put this thin layer of butter across the baking sheet before adding a teaspoon, not heaping, worth of dough to the sheet. I let them bake for exactly 15 minutes. The bottoms browned perfectly. My boyfriend devoured a dozen within minutes of them coming out of the oven. This is definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I use this recipe every single year, and it never fails! It has an amazing melt in your mouth taste. I use a cookie scoop and a half of a cherry or a Hershey kiss in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent! I greatly prefer these to traditional harder shortbread cookies. They really do melt in your mouth. The key here is to follow the recipe - when they write whip the butter for 10 minutes, they mean it! I also add a bit of vanilla for more flavor. I make them every Christmas and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ghostparty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
These cookies just melt in your mouth,I baked a batch of these cookies for work and my fellow workers just loved them.Now I bake them several times a year for for the gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tazman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackpool, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Shortbread is my husband's favorite cookie. I have always used a different recipe but was unable to find it and had promised to make them. This recipe ROCKS! This cookie truly meets the definition of melt in your mouth! They are way better than the recipe I had been using and I will never go back. These are the best shortbread cookies ever. Note: we don't care for marichino cherries, so they were topped with chocolate melts. Yum! They are extremely delicate though. I don't know how well they will hold up to the stress of transport or being included in a holiday gift plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtMoonKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I thought these were pretty yummy. They are super easy and quick to make too. The recipe yielded 28 cookies with a standard cookie scoop. I was surprised that a cherry cut into 4 was enough of a piece for each cookie, but it was. I think, they would be good with the almonds like in the picture. As they are so soft, some competing texture would be nice. These would look pretty on a Christmas tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I like to think of myself as a pretty good cook, but when it comes to baking I am terrible. I love shortbread cookies but find them exspensive. So when I found this recipe I was hoping, and wow! THANK YOU! They were great and very easy for me. Thats my kind of baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The best whipped shortbread cookies ever! Bet u can't eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States