Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
For those who found them grainy, use ising sugar instead! Works great all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I followed the advice of Miriam (and her dad). I increased the flour to 2 cups with the 1 c butter. It was fabulous. I rolled the dough out and used a cookie cutter. I also baked till lightly golden. Someone even commented how they liked the fact they didn't fall apart when bitten. Our new favorite shortbread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beechy, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I baked these for the family I nanny for and they loved them!I wish it was sweeter but over all they were easy and very tasty! I added a spoonful of strawberry jelly into the middle of each cookie before baking instead of the cherries...that was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
"the best" says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these a couple days ago and, although they do indeed melt in your mouth (as whipped shortbread should) I found they need more sugar and perhaps vanilla extract or maybe a little of the cherry juice to sweeten and add flavor. They tasted a little "floury". As one other reviewer stated, they are very fragile and crumbly.. but you need to expect that if you want WHIPPED shortbread. I also found these ones spread out a little more than I expected but I think that's more my fault than the recipe. Over all it's a good recipe and very easy to make... just maybe more sugar and a little splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is a marvelous simple, customizable "shortbread" cookie recipe. Other reviewers mentioned it isn't "true shortbread", but it tastes close enough for me and my family! I don't have an electric mixer so I did it all by hand and fork, and it turned out great. I followed one suggestion to cream the butter by itself for a while, then I slowly added sifted sugar, then flour. My arm got tired near the end, but it was fine! I hate maraschinos so I ended up topping my cookies with all sorts of sprinkles. My favorite topping was jam-- I spooned a bit into little heart-shaped indentations-- and then green sprinkles over top, and they made attractive christmas shortbread cookies. Yum! I went back and made another batch the very next day. I'm definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These taste wonderful, but are horribly crumbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EILEEN
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies were definetaly melt in your mouth...the taste was very yummy..my husband loved them!!Had no problem scooping them off my cookie sheet but once they were bitten into..quite crumbly...Although i haven't had shortbread cookies alot before so mabye thats normal..Easy to make and i added a teaspoon of almond extract on my second batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Melts in your mouth. The best short bread cookie I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
How exciting....finally a recipe that is tasty with substitute butter! My child is allergic to egg, milk and soy. I followed the recipe but substituted 1 cup of butter with earth balance soy free vegetable spread. I also placed pure choc chips in the center of some cookies and 100% fruit spread on a few others in lieu of cherries. My family loves them...thanks for a quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States