Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very rich, flaky and delicious. I did figure out why some of the other reviews said the cookies were too fragile to take off the cookie sheet. The first batch I made, I baked for 18 minutes which allowed the tops of the cookies to begin to brown and had no trouble with them. The second batch, I baked for 15 minutes and they were still fully white on top...could not take them off the parchment paper, they just fell apart. I didn't have maraschino cherries so I used hershey kisses, and I added 1/2 a cup more flour and combined the dry ingredients separately then spooned it into the mixer steadily, allowing the mixture to become fully integrated before adding more. Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSM1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I agree with previous reviewers - these cookies melt in your mouth but crumble in your hand before you can even take a bite. I first tried taking the cookies off the pan right out of the oven and I couldn't even get them on the spatula without falling apart. Then I tried letting them cool first and taking them off this helped a little. At least I was able to transfer them to a plate without breaking - but once I tried picking them up once again they fell right apart. Disappointing after holding my heavy beaters for 10 min. Next time I'm trying a recipe with more flour/more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
LOVE IT!! I keep getting request from people for this recipe. It is a big hit no matter when I make it or for what occasion. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitewood, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Macklin, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Too easy to be good (I thought) but these cookies are ABSOLUTELY DIVINE! My 3 yr old grand daughter and I, whipped the batter with spoons. They're so buttery and just melt away in your mouth. I realized at the last moment, I didn't have powder sugar, so I substituted granulated instead. I can't imagine them getting better than this. Gotta go! Our second batch is now ready! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
So based on the reviews I read, I also modified the recipe to reflect the previous review, saying 2 C flour to 1 C butter... I also decided to add a bit of the juice from the cherries for extra flavor. I have to say that after mixing for a few moments with hand mixer the best way to describe the state of my kitchen was that of cocaine den! What a mess! So I would suggest that you do it in a food processor if you have one, HOWEVER, if you are using a food processor, do NOT mix for the recommended 10 mins, as the heat from the processor will melt the butter and ruin the mix! Mix it until it goes lighter in shade by several shades and looks fluffy and whipped, also ensure to scrap down the sides of the processor to ensure even mixing. But do pay attention to the mix and do NOT mix it for more than 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CEMME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
melt in your mouth cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The best shortbread recipe I have tried. I whipped it for the full 10 minutes and then piped it onto the cookie sheets using a pastry bag. My kids loved these cookies. The only change I made was placing a chocolate morsel on the top rather than a maraschino cherry piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So many compliments about this super-easy recipe! The trick is in the mixing - don't skimp on the time spent mixing and bake until just golden at the edges at you will have good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Made these over the Christmas holidays and they were so easy and yummy!! Will make again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
OMG AMAZING! I agree with previous comments. Bump the flour up to 2 cups, beat butter for 5 min, add sugar, beat 5 min, add half of flour, add other half. They were perfect. I will be adding pecan meal to mine for a pecan sandie flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States