Whipped Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
These came out beautifully. I substituted 4 oz. cream cheese for 1/2 of the butter, but otherwise followed the recipe. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
wonderful recipe-my mom makes a variation of these as well, very yummy! I don't like the cherries, so we put crushed candy canes in the centre instead. makes them festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Excellent recipe and so easy. I will be making this every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I make these at Christmas every year. Works best when whipped with a stand mixer. All my family love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
These are fantastic. When I make these for the holidays, I usually use the candied red and green cherries for the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Well I had high hopes for these cookies! The instructions were super easy and the dough when mixed was so yummy and fluffy! I made them exactly as directed (using salted butter - might try unsalted next time) and when the one reviewer said they were "grainy" like sand I couldn't imagine how it would be after you whipped them for so long, but that's what happened to mine after cooking too! I omitted the cherry and once they were out of the oven I added a large round chocolate piece to the top without moving them off the baking sheet. The first batch came out so fragile that I couldn't even pick them up to eat one! They just fell apart like a cookie made of SAND. I am letting the second batch cool on the pan (which is going to make baking these take a long time!). That might be the ticket? I don't know what the magic touch is? Maybe I shouldn't have fluffed the flour before measuring it? I softened the butter a little and mixed it all together at the same time. No creaming butter first and adding sugar then flour - that might help a little. I did let them cool on the pan before lifting them off and that helped slightly. At least I could sorta pick them up even though once you bit into the cookie it crumbled apart. My 2yr old was VERY upset when her cookie fell on the ground and she didn't get a bite. :( They do taste good and they disolve in your mouth. I personally like a little more substance when I bite into a shortbread cookie and not have it fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Delicious and melt in your mouth. I did add a half teaspoon of vanilla just because. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I loved this recipe! The cookies are melt in your mouth and the cherry added such a nice touch! I decided to drizzle some milk chocolate over a few in the batch. They were so good! I melted milk choc, shortening and some coconut milk together...the coconut milk gave it an interesting flavour...and I'm definitely gonna do it like that again! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These really are light and melt-in-your-mouth good. I first beat the softened (salted) butter in my electric stand mixer; then beat the dough for the 10 minutes called for. Shortbread is high on my list of fave cookies, so I didn't think I'd want maraschino cherries messing with my shortbread! But it really did add a very nice touch. I used Trader Joe's Maraschino Cherries (no red dye additives and they still taste great). This does not make very many cookies, so if you want a lot, at least double the recipe! I probably got the 3 dozen it says it yields, but they are very small cookies! BTW, there are two recipes for these cookies on this site with one difference: the other one calls for red AND green maraschino cherries! Thanks for the great cookie, Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Awesome! I looked for 20 years for a "melt in your mouth" shortbread cookie and finally found it in this one. Only 15 minutes in my oven, so be carefull. It says to whip for 10 minutes, buy my arm got sore so I quit after 4 minutes. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States