Whipped Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Mashed potatoes are classic comfort food and while most every cook has their own "take" or "secret" to making them extra special there's no disputing the basic formula which is what this recipe gives you: potatoes, butter, and milk in it's own proportions. I generally use more butter and more warm milk. I also add in some salt and pepper along with a bit of garlic powder. I always use an electric mixer to "mash" my potatoes whether its my kitchen aid stand mixer for large batches or my hand held for small batches. The potatoes come out perfectly "whipped" everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I have always used an electric mixer to "mash" my potatoes so I agree it's an excellent tip. Another little tip is to heat your milk in the microwave before adding it to the potatoes. If you add cold milk it sort of cools off your potatoes, and hot potatoes are better! For some reason it also makes them creamier AND taste better. TRY IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Mmmm, just like Mom used to make! I used 5 Tbs of butter, and skim milk, because that's all I had. After straining the water out, I put the taters in the hot pot back on the burner, on low, and let the excess water steam away for a minute. Emeril suggests this for avoiding goopy or runny taters. I used a hand electric mixer right in the pot, just like Mom. (Make sure your nonstick can handle it--mine can, Cooks Essentials is tough.) Use a low speed to avoid overbeating. Add milk gradually until you get the consistency you want. I like mine thicker, with a few little pieces to letcha know they're REAL. If you like a more perfectly whipped version, a stand mixer would work better. Just keep an eye on it so you stop it at the right time. Do NOT substitute a food processor--wrong tool for the job. You'll get a glutinous glob. If you use a stand mixer, preheat the bowl in hot water to keep your taters hot. Good idea to warm up your serving bowl, too, if you're using one. In addition to the add-ins other reviewers have mentioned, try whipping in sour cream, or fold in grated cheese, crumbled crisp bacon, sprinkle chives on it, or anything you top taters with. I like just fresh ground salt, pepper, and butter. Good quality taters have a wonderful taste without needing to be hidden behind strong flavors. And, don't let highly seasoned spuds upstage your main dish. Thanks, Sandra, for the recipe/prep tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kentuckyliz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Yes, the use of the electric mixer is a great tip, but the recipe in and of itself is a little more bland than I prefer. Not a bad start, but I used heavy cream instead of milk (adding a little at a time to reach the desired consistency), more butter, and my "secret" mashed potato ingredient -- just a tiny pinch of nutmeg, as well as salt and pepper. Garlic, black olive, onion, cooked carrot or spinach, wasabi powder, or shredded cheese, are nice variations on the mashed potato recipe, too. This is a versatile base. Use your imagination and add what you like. Also, sometimes I scrub the potatoes well and leave the skins on. It makes for a less-smooth texture but adds nutrients. Adding a little dry milk powder will also enrich your mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frenchgirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I didn't know you could make mashed potatoes without whipping them! Whipping is definitely what makes them creamy -especially if you add cream to the batter! If you want them to be extra fluffy as well, place your bowl of mashed potatoes, covered, over a simmering saucepan of water for 10-15 mn. In addition to keeping them warm, the texture will be fantastic! Don't forget to add salt and pepper -and a grating of nutmeg if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have always used my mixer to mash potatoes. They do make them much fluffier. Thanks to the review that suggested heating the milk. This worked so much better and my potatoes stayed warm longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The technique is correct, but what will really make your potatoes decadent is to use cream instead of milk. Not necessarily the most health conscious method, but it will make your meal better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Like others- I have whipped the taters for ages BUT tonight I used heated evaporated milk (thanks for the tip!) and they - regardless if its mind over matter - do seem to taste much creamier- and stay warmer longer! Went great w/ our roast beef dinner! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
Try using whipping cream instead of milk and a potato ricer and then use your electric mixer for the fluffiest mashed potatoes you have ever tasted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is always how I make mashed potatoes and I never have leftovers. Another add-in that I sometimes use is a packet of dry Ranch dressing mix. I also like to leave the skins on the potatoes for a little extra flavor and all the good vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Meissner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States