Whipped Cream Mousse Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is one of my favorite frostings to use on summer cakes, like Poke Cake. It's easy to make and frosts like a dream. Sometimes, I'll even throw in some food coloring for a colored frosting or a teaspoon of Kool Aid for a slightly flavored frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Excellent...used fat free sugar free french vanilla pudding, skim milk, and fat free whipped topping. Delicious served on Oreo Cookie Cake from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I don't like icing/frosting, but I can "stand" light, airy versions that aren't too sweet. Needing to frost cupcakes for guests, we made this recipe as directed, and again with chocolate pudding and a tad of Kahlua. Yum. This just became my go to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe, followed as directed and it was fabulous. Did add food coloring for my son's bday cupcakes, yellow might not have been to masculine. Also 1 8 oz tub of whipped topping is 3 cups so no need to measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
YUM! I love this recipe! Light and creamy whipped frosting. I add three tablespoons of cocoa powder along with the vanilla pudding step and it tastes like chocolate ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Photo by spice_of_life
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe is perfection. It is easy to put together and tastes fantastic. Love the light, creamy flavor and smooth mousse texture. I made this using vanilla pudding mix exactly as the original recipe is written. I then used it with the Heavenly White Cake recipe here topped off with fresh strawberries (dry them after washing). I used it as a filling between layers of the cake, then frosted the outside of the cake, and piped little flowers all around the strawberries. I was surprised how nicely the delicate piped flowers turned out. The frosting holds up well at room temperature. I decorated the cake and had it on display for 2 and a half hours with no change in it's appearance or texture. I also piped this frosting on cupcakes for my son's kindergarten birthday party. The children sucked the frosting right off the cupcakes and they declared it tasted like vanilla ice cream. It was a hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I was skeptical to try this but it got such great reviews decided to go with it. My biggest concern was how long it would hold up. I made cupcakes for my granddaughters birthday.Seven hours later they still looked great.She only likes whipped cream frosting and she really liked it.I normally don't like whipped cream frosting and I liked it along with everyone else.I did freeze the bowl and whisk first.I whipped it a longer than the recipe called for. I ended up with stiff peaks. after folding in the Cool Whip it got lumpy.turned the mixer back on whipped it about fifteen seconds more. Perfect.I will be using this recipe a lot. I also will be trying other flavors of pudding.Thanks Sweettreats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
My husband, all my friends and I all love this frosting. I use chocolate pudding to add some chocolate flavor. We all fight over who gets to eat what's left in the bowl, if there is any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Winchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Oh. My. Gosh. This is the best frosting. EVER! I loved it! I made it exactly as written but with a chocolate pudding mix instead of a vanilla for a cake on Mother's day. It's so simple and easy to make and takes no time at all. It is not overly sweet either, just right! I have a chocolate cake in the oven right now for Father's day, and I'm thinking of making it with the white chocolate pudding mix. I'm thinking of all of the wonderful flavors that can be made: lemon pudding for a lemon frosting on a lemon cake, and even pistachio pudding - that would probably go good with a chocolate cake. There's also coconut cream, banana cream, butterscotch, and even in the fall there's pumpkin spice... the possibilities are endless! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! Not too sweet. I made one with white cholocate pudding the second with devil's food flavoring. Worked great on our ice cream cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States