Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by magob
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Tasted plain and just a little greasy. not horrible by any means just not delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Taste is delicious....not too hard to make. The flour mixture HAS to be COOL....or it won't come out right. I only gave it 4 stars because it doesn't last very long. I make some earlier in the day and when I went to frost my cupcakes in the evening, the frosting was lumpy and looked oily. This happened two times to me. I do recommend it IF you are frosting, then eating with in a very few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gskatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
There is a commercial variety of this frosting but it is not available where I live (Atlanta area). I found this recipe which is a homemade version of the commercial stuff. I use 3/4 cup of milk and 3 T flour. I use butter flavored shortening. I use 1 1/2 t vanilla or any kind of flavoring (lemon is good). I whip the butter, shortening and sugar for four minutes, add the flour mixture and whip another four minutes. It turns out perfectly every time. If I want to make it chocolate I add 4 T cocoa powder when I make the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Looked wonderful, tasted like butter with sugar in it. Might be good on toast though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I didn't have luck with this recipe. It just tasted too much like shortening and it appeared oily too. I ended up going to my tried and true frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I had good results with this frosting - it was pretty yummy (I don't really like frosting - but this was really nice, light and fluffy, and not too sweet, but I could taste/feel the butter/crisco texture a little) I think the key is to keep beating it - I tested it after adding the milk/flour and beating for several minutes & it was a bit greasy and grainy, I wasn't sure it was going to turn out. But, I kept it going in the stand mixer for another 5-10 minutes and it magically became smooth & light, more like whipped cream. Next time I will probably just use regular stabilized whipped cream (add a tsp of dissolved gelatin to the cream after soft peaks form) much easier and tastes more like whipped cream (because it is!) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDoodle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
It does take a lot of time to beat but it was very, very well worth the effort. Everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Ok, the author of this recipe left out the KEY for this to turn out. It must be whipped, and whipped, and WHIPPED for quite a long time, BUT the end result is delightful. After reading reviews...I let the sugar/short/butter whip for 10 min before even starting the milk. The milk mixture took about 10 min(still whipping) the cooling took about 12 min(still whipping) and then I SLOWLY added the the cooled milk mixture in about 3 equal part, whipping 2-3 min. in between each. At this point it was still a little granular and butter tasting and I was getting frustrated..added a bit more vanilla and whipped for probably 6-7 more minutes and then magically...smooth, silky, light, fluffy and crazily tasting like whipped whipping cream. You just have to beat into submission,lol...worth it though. As one poster mentioned...I did use 3 T of flour instead of 2 and I also added 1 t of vanilla during cooking milk...and probably 1/2 t at final whipping stage. Hope this helps someone else : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This worked great! It didn't come out grainy at all and it was easy to make. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanellKendall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Texas, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I love this recipe; make sure you beat it for a very long time to work out the granulated sugar and it definitely tastes better after it rests a few hours. It is comparable to the whipped cream frosting at a local bakery known for this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States