Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
In defense of Tom, the man who submitted this recipe, there looks to be a few people who gave this recipe a lower rating based on the fact they had problems with the cream. To those users I'd like to say that your cream was not bad but simply, you whipped it for too long. Heavy cream that has been whipped for long periods of time will eventually go past that beautiful "stiff peak" stage into a less appealing state of ..... you guessed it, butter! Hence the butter churn from days gone by. The milky substance that accompanies the butter is known as buttermilk. (thanks grandma) I hope other users have found this information helpful and to those who already knew this..... my apologies!! Otherwise, great recipe Tom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
OH SO GOOD...I made this recipe after reading the reviews and decided to use powdered sugar instead of granulated.It was very smooth.I would HIGHLY reccomend that you put bowl,beaters and even the heavy whipping cream into the freezer for 10 min. prior to whipping.It stiffened up nice and quick. I want to mention that I used heavy whipping cream instead of just heavy cream(not sure if it makes a difference)I used it on a Duncan Hines strawberry cake(2 layers) and it's a great contrast against the sweetness of the cake.If you want it a little sweeter add an extra 1/2c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This was a great recipe, and I would make it again. Here's what I did different, based on other reviews: chilled bowl, whip, and whipping cream in freezer for 10 minutes before whipping it up; used 1 pint whipping cream, 1 pint HEAVY whipping cream; used approximately 3/4 cup powdered sugar in place of granulated (measured it first, then sifted into cream cheese mixture). SO! It was yummy and I will be making it again! I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for something nice and light-tasting (but not light calorie wise!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
For the person who had trouble with the softness of the frosting, just add one package/cup of cream of Dr. Oetikers Whip-it stabilizer. This is my standard frosting for decorating cakes and it is great to work with once the stabilizer has been added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This recipe is a definite winner in the taste category. As someone with lots of cake decorating experience, I would say this is a wonderful filling, but is not suited for frosting (unless you just dollop it on top). This recipe is VERY soft, and does NOT firm up upon refigeration like a buttercream. I made a double batch to decorate a large cake and ditched that plan shortly after I started decorating. I froze this double batch until I thought of a use for it (decided to add it to leftover white rice, added a bit of milk, cinnamon, and a touch more vanilla... it was the most delicious rice pudding imagineable). I might use it as a tart filling sometime, topped with seasonal fruits. Really delicious stuff. PS - I read that it piped well, but I have enough decorating experience to tell that was not going to be the case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This whipped cream frosting is awesome! But, I had to add another 3 oz. of cream cheese and 2 tbsp. of white sugar and a splash more of vanilla to get it to pipe. I know this goes without saying, but make sure your bowl and beater are well chilled! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This is a wonderfully light and fluffy frosting. It’s not too sweet. It’s like a whipped cream frosting with a hint of cream cheese or an extremely light and airy version of a cream cheese frosting. It's easy to make. I’ve received several compliments and requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yana
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Although delicious, this was not what I was looking for in a frosting. It turned out incredibly runny and I ended up having to dip the tops of my cupcakes in order to apply it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I put this on an angel food cake I made from scratch...I've never made frosting, never mind a cake, from scratch before and I got rave reviews. Several people told me it was the best cake they'd EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Outstanding variation on a tired old frosting, Tom! We loved this on the banana cake also found on this site. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States