Whipped Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I was doing wonderfully with making this recipe until I got to the heavy whipping cream. I followed the instructions on the carton such as chilling the bowl and beaters before whipping the cream. After soft peaks formed I gradually added 2 tbls. sugar and continued beating. Stiff peaks were just forming when the whole batch began to liquify. I had to toss it down the disposal since it was then unuseable. Thank goodness I had a large tub of Cool Whip in the freezer. The 9 x 12 Strawberry cake is now frosted and in the refrigerator. Tomorrow I plan to add thinly sliced, and lightly sugared strawberries to top it all off. I wished the recipe had come out as written, because there is nothing better than real whipped cream. Hmm, maybe the heavy whipping cream was outdated? Other than the snafu with the whipping cream the frosting still turned out pretty well. It is still a tad on the thin side for me and I'm hoping it will firm up in the refrigerator overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Karl-Roe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
WOW! This is the 3rd time i've used this recipe & I will never use any other frosting for my cakes EVER again! My husband eats the leftover frosting right out of the bowl! I used 2/3 cup powdered sugar instead of the regular sugar. (Too much sweetness can ruin the "fluffiness" taste). I usually make the frosting ahead of time and refrigerate it to make it a little more easy to work with. I used a butter recipe white cake mix and layered it with strawberries & bananas. Every time i've made this cake, people ask for my business card...thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This frosting is very good and certainly does make for a nice change of pace. I am not a fan of butter cream frostings, so this works for me. The only thing I changed about this recipe is the white sugar. Confectioners sugar works much better and makes for a much smoother, fluffier frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I made this frosting and it hade good flavor but the question I have is do we use i cup of powdered sugar or one cup of regular sugar? it was gritty using regular sugar, although the taste was very good. please help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
FABULOUS!!! I used icing sugar instead of white sugar -as someone else suggested, and also only used 1 cup of whipped cream. I then chilled it in the fridge for 20 minutes before frosting the cake and it was very very easy to work with and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I didn't have heavy cream so I ommited it altogether. The frosting still tasted great, just like the stuff on top of a cinnabon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Very, very tasty. It made a standard white cake spectacular. You can tell the cream cheese is there, but it is still very different from a standard cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Holy Cow was this ever good! Tastes like that cream cheeese/Fluff mixture that we make for strawberries in the summer. Served it with a strawberry cake for an early Xmas celebration. Big hit. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
LOVE THE RECIPE! I HAVE USED IT ON BOTH A CHOCOLATE AND CARROT CAKE. VERY EASY TO MAKE AND TASTES GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
All the raving reviews were RIGHT on the money! I actually whipped this up at my office - very easy and everyone fought over licking the bowl, beaters, spatula, etc. ... Highly recommended, can't wait to use it again. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGRACEFF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States