Whipped Cream Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This filling/icing was stable, but not as I expected, I was hoping for more stiff cream. Well I added vanilla extract. Make sure the gelatin mixture is runny and you can pour it in the cream while beating on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I messed up & added more than one t gelatin - probably two. I added an individual envelope-full. :/ Yup, it's stabilized! :D Actually, it's good; it just looks overwhipped - my fault. It doesn't taste it, no butter here; but definitely looks it. This is a good recipe, but I think I might try the dissolve-in-cold-water-first type when I try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This tasted and worked great. I made a previous almost slightly similar recipe from this site that ended up having gelatin beads in the whipped cream. For some reason, that was not the case this time. I just heated some water in the microwave, measured out the 1 Tblsp., and then stirred in the gelatin in the separate bowl. I poured it in quickly while blending. This will be my new go to for stabilized whipped cream. Although, this holds up like a frosting it still is whipped cream. So, I would use it in conjunction with a sweet filling on cake or cupcakes or as a filling and a sweet glaze, ganache, or something similar on top. It works for me, but I know most are accustomed to commercial cakes and cupcakes which are extremely sweet. It makes enough whipped cream for 1 cake or 15 cupcakes, and it holds up well in the fridge until serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
i wasn't very happy with this, ive made whipped cream hundreds of time but thought this might hold up better for a coconut cake i was making, but the gelatin made the texture of the whipped cream different (more like cool whip....i don't know how else to explain it) it made it seem artificial, and i really stood over the bowl confused at how my wonderful whipped cream had somehow been turned to cool whip. the cake survived, and no one had anything bad to say about it, but ill stick to basics on the whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smash138

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this yesterday in a chocolate fudge cake for my 2 grandson's birthday, they loved it. I will make this filling for all my cakes, cream puffs, and eclairs and anything else that needs a cream filling. Thank you for this recipe I have others but this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beveri15

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Excellent and easy! Just be sure your gelatin mixture is room temperature and not too thick before adding it to prevent clumpiness. It was really easy to work with and just sweet enough to complement sweet desserts. Thank you, thank you, Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Copland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I added a packet of Starbucks Via for a coffee-flavored filling and icing for a devil's food cake - light and creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Suggested by others to add more sugar and Vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
It is so nice to have a recipe to use when you have to make the whipped cream beforehand or to be able to decorate cakes or cupcakes with before it melts down. I will be using this often. I did add a bit more vanilla but other than that didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
i used it to do a banana cream filing for a cake and used the rest to frost the cake. i did add more sugar as it wasn't enough sweetness as someone else mentioned. very basic recipe like going out to buy whip cream in a tub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motomoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States