Whipped Cream Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Good stuff. Not too sweet, wonderful. Highly recommend if you are frosting a rich cake, this frosting will definately not over power. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This turned out great, I will add a little more gelatine next time. I also added more powered sugar, because I like it a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
while the taste was good (I added about 4T. of powdered sugar and 1/2t. of vanilla) this recipe did not hold up as a filling for my layer cake. I'm guessing the cake was too heavy but I presumed adding the gelatin would firm it up for this purpose. I had an extremely hard time keeping the gelatin liquid enough to add to the cream and in the end I was still left with little pellets of gelatin in the cream (I definitely need to practice perfecting this step). I would try this recipe again, but only to make a sturdy dessert topping or as a filling for pastries like creampuffs or eclairs, not cakes. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I have been searching for this for a long time. Thank you for posting it. When we were kids, we got what we called "Smearfaces" which is an eclair/long john type of donut. The filling would get smeared all over your face when you ate it, hence the term smearface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bridgeport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This held up perfectly. I put it on top of a Tres Leches Cake and it was absolutely beautiful and stayed that way. Tasted great too!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
this is super, just becareful when you do the geletin as it sets fast, I added more water. It keeps for several days without weeping....Just love it, happy I tried it out...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is my first time trying this recipe and I must say it was very easy to make but I did add a bit more sugar. I added 2 tbls. more so next time I will make it I will put 1/4 cup of sugar. It will be perfect to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I can’t give this recipe enough stars!! I used it to frost a tres leches (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Tres-Leches-Milk-Cake/Detail.aspx) cake and it never became runny or watery it stayed perfectly on the cake and didn’t soak in either! I usually don’t make my own whipped cream because I have so much trouble with it, but this has just made it so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Made this as topping on banana cream pies. It was great! As other reviewers recommended, I increased the powdered sugar to 1/4 cup. Thanks, Cathy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States