Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Just made this to frost a chocolate birthday cake. I followed the suggestions to use icing sugar, and was concerned about the texture not being firm enough to pipe, but it did firm up in the fridge after a couple of hours. The flavour is outstanding, and I mixed about a cup of the frosting with a half cup of natural peanut butter for the middle of the cake. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I replaces sugar with Just like Sugar to make a diabetic friendlier version. Used exact measurements and it was very thick. Mine didn't turn out runny at all. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This recipe is unbelievably good! I studied the comments, and ended up following the recipe exactly, BUT making sure to chill my beater and bowl in the fridge beforehand. My cream cheese had been sitting out for several hours, and so that was no problem. I also folded the two together carefully and then finished off with 30 seconds with the mixer, as one commenter suggested. It came out BEAUTIFULLY and was perfect for "Sam's Carrot Cake". I realize that one reason I normally feel guilty about carrot cake is that I have to leave the icing behind. No longer! Advice: I used regular (not confectioner's) sugar, and it worked very well. However, I was NOT piping, and frankly it didn't look stiff enough to pipe easily. I almost didn't use the entire amount of sugar because I thought it would be too sweet, but it wasn't. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's just the right amount of sweetness not to overpower the cake. So light and fluffy -- beautiful, really. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I am amazed that this recipe has gotten any bad reviews! This is by far the best cream cheese frosting I've ever had and I get rave reviews every time I use it. I'm not sure this is suppose to be a piping type frosting if that's what you are looking for. A trick I learn somewhere on the web was to beat warmed gelatin in with the whipped cream at the soft peak stage and then continue to beat until stiff peaks form. The gelatin keeps the whipped cream from separating, and in a warm room the frosting won't melt. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I was a little leery about using this recipe because of the negative reviews, but it sounded so delicious I couldn't resist... and I'm glad I didn't! It was amazing. It complimented the gluten-free vanilla birthday cake I made for my MIL bday... GF cakes tend to be dry if not eaten fresh out of the oven, so I wanted a softer-fluffier filling and icing, and this took the cake!!! I took extra precautions when making the icing because of the negative reviews... I followed amounts EXACTLY as called for, but what I did with the sugar, because I thought granulated sugar, as is, would be a little heavy (and I didn't want to risk it), I ground it to a fine powder in my spice grinder (only one cup)... and it worked. And also, I learned in a cake decorating class I took that the name brand ingredients you use DO make a difference. My instructor said that for stiff cream cheese icing, you should only use Philadelphia Cream Cheese... other cream cheeses won't hold up... no concrete explanation for why. I don't know if that will help, but this recipe did not fail me. EVERYBODY at the party loved the cake... they didn't even complain that it was gluten-free, and I'm certain it was because of how delicious this icing paired with it. oh, one more thing... I didn't even freeze the beaters or the bowl before mixing... also, the icing held up fine during the 1 hour car ride to my in-law's house. I used this icing to ice and fill a 4 layer birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Well here is what I do any time I use whipped cream in or on something. Add some Dream Whip. Start with a couple of tablespoons. If it's still too soft add a bit more until it is like you want it. That should set it up nicely, and it won't turn runny and soft for the rest of the day or longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
For those of you who say this frosting is too runny: I think you may be confusing whipping cream with whipped cream. Whipping cream is also called heavy cream & is a liquid. Whipped cream is heavy cream that has been beaten until it is light & fluffy (like cool whip). This recipe calls for the whipping (heavy) cream to be beaten (step 1 of the instructions) before being folded into the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I made this recipe this morning, using 1 3/4 c. Powdered sugar instead of white sugar, and it came out PERFECT. It is light and delicious. I used it to frost cupcakes and did not have any problem whatsoever piping it. It looks Beautiful! Wish I could get my IPAD to let me upload a pic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This frosting tastes delicious! I use it all the time on red velvet cake. It's not great for firm piping or fancy presentation necessarily, but it tastes incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States