Whipped Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made a fairly significant change to this recipe - by mistake. The result was so wonderful you might want to make the same "mistake!" I committed cardinal sin #1 when it comes to baking and didn't read through the recipe carefully before I began. Since in most cases you'll make a cake with all ingredients at room temperature, I measured out the cream and set it out with the eggs. When I set out to make the recipe I noticed it directed that the cream was to be whipped before adding in the flour, and that wasn't about to happen with it at room temp! But I wasn't about to start from the beginning either by re-chilling the cream. So... I took a chance and beat the eggs with the sugar for a few minutes to aerate the mixture, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the (unwhipped)cream. I baked it in the 8" layer cake pans as directed, but I wasn't comfortable with the baking temperature of 375 degrees, so I lowered it to the more traditional 350 and baked the layers about 23 minutes. I watched it rise nicely and perfectly as it was baking and I was encouraged. I turned the cake out from the pans and it was stilll perfect. Frosted it with "French Silk Frosting" (although a vanilla buttercream would have been nice too), cut myself a slice and was wowed. The cake has an open and tender crumb, fluffy (almost dainty in its lightness!) and is very moist. Because it's flavored with just a little vanilla it would be compatible with just about any frosting. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is wonderful cake. I did not have any cake flour on hand so I used all purpose. ****Subtract 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour for every 1 cup of cake flour**** This cake turned out wonderful and moist! I made cupcakes with the recipe but next time I will use it as 2 8 in. round pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
OMG, it's been a while since my family has given a perfect review to something I bake! I made it for mother's day, and it was a huge hit. I followed the recipe exactly and frosted with mocha cream(from this site). It came out fabulous! I made sure not to over beat the batter, and was a bit worried about its texture. It was a bit grainy when I poured in the cake moulds. DOn't worry, it comes out just perfect after baking! Light, fluffy, yet full of flavor. My mother even said it tasted similar to great pound cake. One reviewer said that it tastes like whipped cream? I agree! My brother who is usually very difficult to please, called me at home after I had left their house, to tell me that he had just had a piece, and loooooved it! He also said he would pay at least $40 for it! And he never calls me to tell me he likes something, so that must mean something! Thanks for that great recipe, outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was fantastic! I didn't have cake flour, so i used All Purpose and it was still delicious! I increased the servings to 12, and I baked the cake in two 9 inch pans. I made fresh whipped cream and layerd the cake with the whipped cream and strawberrys. What a hit! I had to make it twice in one weekend, and there isn't one piece left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the most amazing from scratch cake I have ever tasted. I am glad I tried this one. I knew it was going to be good after I tasted the batter. I followed the recipe and direction, but I baked mine in a bundt cake pan. I topped this with Vanilla Glaze from this site and served it with a scoop of my homemade Lemon Poppyseed Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
It really tastes like whipped cream! ok ok , I know the name is Whipped cream cake but I just didn't expect such a nice creamy flavour! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
A wonderful light and airy cake.And the taste was excellent i put a strawberry and vanilla jam with fresh whipped cream and fresh strawberries in the middle and on top of this cake and everyone love it so much.wonderful recipe thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Made this as a birthday cake and for the layer I added fresh strawberries and buttercream icing. The cake turned out really fluffy and light. It's an easy recipe with a great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
BEST white cake EVER...the only thing I added was a small packet of vanilla pudding mix...this cake was super moist and tasted wonderful...everyone raved about how good it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This cake recipe turned out so light and fluffy...almost like a sponge cake consistency. I used all-purpose flour and deducted about 2 tablespoons worth. The flavor was outstanding! I made this in some mini bundt cake pans and into cupcakes and lightly dusted them with some powder sugar. My hubby couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States