Whipped Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Absolutely delicious and fluffy and met in my mouth! Tastes great plain even! I did frost some of it with slightly altered "Mocha Cream" though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Though the flavour and texture of this cake were wonderful, it became much too dry the day after I had baked it even though I had wrapped the layers in saran wrap, put them into an airtight container, and brushed them with a simple syrup. In the future I will definitely lower the amount of flour and see if that helps. Thanks for the recipe, but unfortunately, I'll have to keep looking for my perfect white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I absolutely adore the flavor. Not too sweet and really does taste like whipped cream. I was a bit disappointed with the size, however. I baked these in two 8" cake pans, but came out with two 3/4" layers. Next time I might try to use smaller pans since I like thicker cakes. Definitely A+ for flavor though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This cake recipe turned out so light and fluffy...almost like a sponge cake consistency. I used all-purpose flour and deducted about 2 tablespoons worth. The flavor was outstanding! I made this in some mini bundt cake pans and into cupcakes and lightly dusted them with some powder sugar. My hubby couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I had high hopes for this cake but unfortunately have to give it three stars because it doesn't work well for cupcakes. As others have mentioned in their reviews, this cake doesn't get high in the middle - it flattens out - and at least one person had theirs sink in the middle. For my cupcakes, the batter rose above the edge of the pan, then sunk, leaving a flat ring of cupcake baked onto the pan around the edge of every cupcake. That ring-around-the-edges of my cupcakes stuck to my expensive non-stick pan. I tried everything to get the cupcakes out of the pan without ripping the tops off, but it didn't work. (Note: I did use paper liners and the cupcake "stumps" weren't stuck, just the tops. I also followed the recipe exactly, made sure not to overmix after adding the flour, and filled the cupcakes about 2/3 - 3/4 full of batter.) On a good note, the batter was beautiful - light and fluffy - and the taste was pretty good. It would work as a cake rather than cupcakes. If you do try cupcakes, I'd recommend not filling the tins more than halfway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This is an amazingly smooth and light white cake. Although I was hesitant to try it and thought I would waste my heavy cream, I am glad I went for it. This is my new staple recipe for white cake... I just know that whoever tastes it will be dying to know what makes it so velvety smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is wonderful cake. I did not have any cake flour on hand so I used all purpose. ****Subtract 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour for every 1 cup of cake flour**** This cake turned out wonderful and moist! I made cupcakes with the recipe but next time I will use it as 2 8 in. round pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Yummy and so light, fluffy and flavorful! I made two layers and filled with sliced strawberries and pastry cream; frosted the outside with buttercream frosting and decorated with more strawberries. Excellent plain cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vtek
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I made this for my Dad's 76th birthday. Let me just say that the flavour of this cake was amazing! Not overly sweet and it was very moist. Everybody who had it raved over how good it tasted. I put fresh strawberries in the middle and frosted with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site. I also added blueberries on top, more for decoration. Yummy. One thing I would do different next time is to be more careful of how much I beat the mixture after adding in the dry ingredients. The cake didn't rise as much as I anticipated, but I think this was because I mixed it too much. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States