Whipped Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
easy, versitile and delicious!! GREAT! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is the most amazing from scratch cake I have ever tasted. I am glad I tried this one. I knew it was going to be good after I tasted the batter. I followed the recipe and direction, but I baked mine in a bundt cake pan. I topped this with Vanilla Glaze from this site and served it with a scoop of my homemade Lemon Poppyseed Ice Cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made a fairly significant change to this recipe - by mistake. The result was so wonderful you might want to make the same "mistake!" I committed cardinal sin #1 when it comes to baking and didn't read through the recipe carefully before I began. Since in most cases you'll make a cake with all ingredients at room temperature, I measured out the cream and set it out with the eggs. When I set out to make the recipe I noticed it directed that the cream was to be whipped before adding in the flour, and that wasn't about to happen with it at room temp! But I wasn't about to start from the beginning either by re-chilling the cream. So... I took a chance and beat the eggs with the sugar for a few minutes to aerate the mixture, then added the dry ingredients alternately with the (unwhipped)cream. I baked it in the 8" layer cake pans as directed, but I wasn't comfortable with the baking temperature of 375 degrees, so I lowered it to the more traditional 350 and baked the layers about 23 minutes. I watched it rise nicely and perfectly as it was baking and I was encouraged. I turned the cake out from the pans and it was stilll perfect. Frosted it with "French Silk Frosting" (although a vanilla buttercream would have been nice too), cut myself a slice and was wowed. The cake has an open and tender crumb, fluffy (almost dainty in its lightness!) and is very moist. Because it's flavored with just a little vanilla it would be compatible with just about any frosting. Very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Purrie
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Very good taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
BEST white cake EVER...the only thing I added was a small packet of vanilla pudding mix...this cake was super moist and tasted wonderful...everyone raved about how good it was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I saw this recipe and got so excited to try it . I love whipped cream and from some of the reviews, I just had to try it. I don't know where their taste buds are but what a let down! It was DRY and no flavor! I shredded the recipe that I printed so I would not make the mistake to make it again. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had whipped the cream and spread it on a rice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
It looked pretty when I baked it and it smelled wonderful, but it became hard and dry next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this cake twice now and both times I had to lower the temperature and bake the cake longer to get the center to cook. But the outsides of the cake got over cooked. And the cakes also sank in the middle when they were cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This turned out excellent. Very very light and fluffy and tender. I tried making cupcakes out of the batter. They taste great but crumble a bit when you try to pull the cupcake liners off since they're so soft. I also filled the lines a bit too full (the batter raises a lot in the oven) and had some spillage (nothing too serious, though.) I will try a cake next time, though I don't have 2 8" pans. I may also cut back on the sugar a bit since this turned out very sweet. We didn't think it needed a frosting or any kind of topping since it was so sweet, but I would like to try it with fresh whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I love this cake! It's so light and tender. It's the perfect white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States