Whipped Carrots And Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was great, I did not blend it though (I was wanted texture to the dish) so I hand mashed the veggies and it was a super side dish that was lighter than mashed potatoes and a nice change from plain carrots-thanks for the recipe, will include it in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I usually roast parsnips, leeks, carrots and garlic Thats my favorite;This turned out great tasted like my sweet potato mix for pies nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My family is from Ireland and I grew up with this recipe. As kids we used to call it Carsnips and Parrots. This combo is great in a soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I thought this was a great way to introduce parsnips into my preschooler's diet. However, he's suspicious of things he can't identify (so is my DH!) It didn't go over very well with them, but I enjoyed it. Parsnips are a little bitter, so it turns some people off. I don't mind it, and I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Really good! My husband loved it, a new way to eat parsnips. I loved it because the sweetness of the carrots covered the flavor of the parsnips for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapinitblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Delcious, though it took a long time to prep. I added cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I needed an excuse to use my new food processor I got for Christmas and didn't even know what a parsnip was, but i found its very close to the texture and shape of a carrot which made them blend together perfectly. It doesn't taste like anything else, it is very unique. I added extra butter and a pinch of sugar which helped to blend the flavors. I loved it!! My fiancee, however described it as "interesting" and did not ask for seconds. I guess it's not for people who are opposed to new tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I am not really a root vegetable fan, but these were really good. A nice blend of flavors, and simple to make. The family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy Shipman Weidenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
We LOVED this recipe. The only change I made was to add about 1 Tbsp of real maple syrup when I was blending..apart from that, I kept it the same. It was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This is a dish that my Aunties have always made for Thanksgiving and Christmas gatherings. I'd never attemted it untill recently. Anyway, it turned out great! I'll deffinetly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States