Whipped Carrots and Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
Wasn't as tasty as I thought, but for those that love carrots & parsnips this will be a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made this recipe instead of potatos for our holiday dinner and received great reviews for my work. Very tasty and different. Of note though, parsnips take a long time to soften. Steaming them for up to 30 minutes doesn't work, they really need to be boiled, otherwise you'll end up with lumps of parsnips in your whipped carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
A tremendous blending of flavors! The consistency is of mashed potatoes. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This side dish was a big hit at our St Paddy's dinner table. Everyone loved it and it will be a tradition from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Not for us, but it looks like a lot of people like it. Used extra seasoning, but still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara B.
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is soooo yummy! If you like the flavor of parsnips, this recipe showcases it wonderfully! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Surprisingly delicious! I made no adjustments, and it worked out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Very good. I think the it needs some more spices. Maybe onions and garlic will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I had never had parsnips before so I wasn't sure what to expect. The dish was quite a bit sweeter than I expected. It was really good, but not what I was expecting. I think I may add onions and other spices next time. My biggest complaint was the smell of the parsnips as they were cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I love both parsnips and carrots and imagined this would be a delicious way to combine them. I followed the directions exactly, but when I tasted it, it was bland mush. I started doctoring, using some of the suggestions in other reviews (I added a little brown sugar, kosher salt, a little pepper, a dash of allspice, and some ground ginger). That improved the flavor but not enough, so I tried adding a little honey and more ginger, and it was still not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States