Wheat Germ Whole-Wheat Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
OMG! Most fantastic pancakes ever. For my own special diet I had to substitute sour cream for the oil. So what!! I love pancakes but these were supreme. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good and healthy, the only problem is are not fluffy like most buttermilk pancakes, probably because of the wheat germ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Fabulous! I used a little extra buttermilk as I am used to a more crepe type pancake, and used 100% maple syrup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My family LOVES these ...even the picky 6 year old. I make them exactly as stated in the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The only thing I changed was I used applesauce instead of oil. They turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These were outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I added blueberries to the batter, per the video on "Blueberry Pancakes," and these were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
These were easy to make and I thought they tasted good. I liked them a best with honey on top. My husband thought they were okay, but prefers our "usual" pancake recipe, which is the Fluffy Pancakes recipe from this site. I like that one a little better too, but this was still good and used up some wheat germ I had in the fridge. I made this recipe as directed except I had to use regular whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
These are so filling! I can eat pancakes made from white flour and still feel hungry after three of them, but I could hardly get two of these down! They are so light and delicate, but very nutritious and satisfying. What a great combination. After reading many reviews, I decided to just put 2T oil and 2T applesauce in place of the full amount of oil. Due to this, it was a little thick, so I added more buttermilk until it was a consistency I like. I topped them with sliced strawberries, a dollop of plain yogurt (a must for pancakes in my opinion) and some maple syrup. The plain yogurt might seem weird, but mixed with some syrup and fruit it's not only delicious, it also adds some extra nutrition to your meal. I will most definitely make these pancakes again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Wow. These are our new favorite pancakes! Since I only had 1.5 cups of buttermilk, I then used regular milk for the other .5 cup. Worked fine. I also added blueberries to the batter and they were plenty sweet enough for us. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States