Wheat Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I threw them out! They were too thick and never got crispy no matter how long I baked them. Trying to cut squares was nearly impossible for me, so they turned out to be funky shapes. But I learned some things and immediately tried them again. I used a pasta roller to get the crackers REALLY thin. Then I used a skinny glass to cut circles out of the dough. I sprinkled them with garlic salt and baked them about 17 minutes. They came out amazing! I had seasoned the dough with Italian seasoning, onion powder, and garlic salt, and also used EVOO instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made these according to the recipe and they weren't wonderful. I'm going to try again following some review recommendations but won't re-make them as the recipe is written again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Delicious! T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These are so easy to make and are very good! I used chicken bullion in the water and added in some shredded cheddar cheese and basil. I will make these again and again with many different variations. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hierrazip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very good but I did modified it to cut back on calories (which is really nothing like the original). I guess at this point, I'm just using the cooking method. Here's what I used...4 TBS flaxseeds, 1/4 c toasted wheat bran, 1 c whole wheat flour, 2 TBS olive oil, 1 c water. I've made it both with salt and without and I prefer it without salt. I scooped half onto a silicon mat, covered it with wax paper and rolled it out as thin as I could. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Remove the wax paper and flip the silicon mat over onto the parchment paper. Then you can peel away the silicon mat and the dough is left intact. Then I scored it with a pizza cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leinad Silloh
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used olive oil, chicken broth, pizza peppers, parmesan cheese and Mrs. Dash. The thinner, the better and they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leinad Silloh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Wow. I can finally say I've done something I've always considered impossible -- making my own crackers! Emboldened by the simplicity of this recipe, I decided to take the plunge. I cut the servings down to 1/4 (8), because so many people had said they got 3-4 sheets out of the original, and I just wanted a test run in case it flopped. Prep was ridiculously easy and quick, and very forgiving of my sloppy measuring habits. Followed directions exactly, except at the last minute, I threw in some Italian seasoning, a few chia seeds, and a drizzle of honey, just because I felt bold. Rolled it out right in the pan on parchment with waxed paper on top, VERY thin. Took about 15 minutes to bake, and yippee! I now have a tasty, healthy batch of preservative-free homemade crispy crackers in about 30 minutes, tops! Next time I'll get even braver and make twice as many, then maybe the full recipe for the family at Christmas. Oh, and seeing that several have used a pasta machine to make these nice and thin, I almost decided to wait and get one, but I'm glad I didn't. They turned out just fine rolling by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
You can't find an easier, healthier and tastier cracker recipe. I only made one change: instead of 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup rye flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Added powdered garlic, parm cheese, and powdered onion! Biggest tip taken from others- Roll out as thin as possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Great taste and something a terrible cook like me can handle... I did it! Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States