Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Wonderful recipe. I used butter for the oil. I used 1 cup milk & 1/2 cup water, I didnt have powdered milk. And added the 1/2 extra cup wheat flour also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I MADE THIS BREAD TODA TWICE AND USED IT FOR ROLLS. THERE WAS TOO MUCH WATER FOR THE FLOUR. I HAD TO ADD PROBABLY A CUP OF FLOUR. I USE WHOLE WHEAT BREAD FLOUR ENTIRELY AND VITAL WHEAT GLUTEN. I JUST PUT IT ON THE DOUGH CYCLE THEN MADE MY ROLLS. I DID HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE FLOUR TO HANDLE IT. BUT THE ROLLS TASTED DELICIOUS. I LIKE THAT IT HAD FLAX IN IT. I LOVE MAKING HEALTHY BREAD. NEXT TIME I WILL EITHER ADD MORE FLOUR OR NOT SO MUCH WATER. WE REALLY LIKED IT. I AM TAKING THE ROLLS TO A FRIENDS FOR THANKSGIVING TOMORROW. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.phylskil32
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I really enjoyed this bread, but it's such a high content of seeds and grains it spoils fast. I mean, really fast . . .I shouldve put it in the fridge. I know better, since I make a ton of homemade bread, but I didn't think about it. I'll try it again, and store in the fridge--not my usual m.o., but it'll keep longer. I like the nutty, rich taste, and it's a decent bread to make. I did make sure that I put in the vital wheat gluten to help it rise. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was pretty good and I love the use of flax. However, I had to add a bunch of extra flour to get it to the right consistency. I am not sure how much extra I put in as I just added it until the ball of dough in the machine seemed right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I have made this bread.. It is excellent and really healthy. You should like the nutty flavor of flax seeds. I did reduce the water by 1/4 of a cup though. This will be one of my top bread recipe. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I put ground flax in a lot of things I make, so I thought this would be a great way to get more in our diet, but I was wrong. Tripled the amounts, made as directed, with a tad less water and had no gluten. Loaves came out light and springy, but the taste was awful. Gave it two stars instead of one because maybe it's just that my family's personal taste doesn't run towards flax, but it was bitter and a little... off tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This came out great! Airy, light and delicious. It sounds like it might be a boring or heavy loaf based on the title, but it's really terrific. I added a seed mixture toward the end so the crust was extra tasty (and seedy), but this would've been good without that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I should have read the reviews before I made this. It was very runny. I had to add flour. Taste was fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this bread was absolutely fantastic! I can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This is excellent! It's my new favorite wheat bread to make. The only thing I did differently was use olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I used the whole wheat cycle and medium crust. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States