Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
My bread loaf had a slight cave in the middle after baking. Technically, the liquid content is too high for the dry content. The taste was still great if you want a nutty, dense bread which is really healthy. All of which was my goal. Second time I made this bread, I increased the flour to 3 cups (2 cups stone ground whole wheat and 1 bread flour),and I always substitute powder buttermilk. Reduced the water to 1 1/4 cups. The loaf did not have the slight cave in and the taste was still great,however, I preferred the original set of ingredients. Too much water in a loaf this dense equated to a more moist bread. Definitely a recipe which I will use again. Love the 3/4 cup of Flax seed mill. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Bread machine recipes never work out the first time due to varying factors. The first time I tried this recipe the dough was too weak and the bread fell. After adjusting water, yeast, and gluten, it came out perfect. My adjustments: 1 cup water 2 tsp yeast 1 tbsp gluten 1 tbsp whole flax seed Bake on whole wheat cycle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I don't have a bread machine, but following the ingredients and regular bread making techniques, the bread turned out great. No modifications made. The bread was loved by all, even my mother-in-law. Will be making again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Oh, these rolls were so good! They were my first taste of flax seed, and I was so happy with them. I added quite a bit of wheat flour to my bread machine, though, because it just wasn't elastic enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
My son has had digestive problems and has used ground flax seed which has brought about an amazing change. When I viewed this recipe, I tried it and is the only one I use now. A great tasting and wonderfully textured bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Outstanding recipe for a healthy and filling loaf of bread. People sample the sandwiches I make using the bread from this recipe and marvel at how hearty and delicious the bread is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAIRYBACKJOE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
A soft and tasty loaf. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add 1/2 cup extra whole wheat flour; I left everything else the same. I used the 1.5 lb, "grain" setting on my bread machine. It rose to a tall, square-ish loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
My bread machine's motor konked out mid-knead so I had to finish the kneading off manually and cooked it in the oven. It still turned out great though! The first loaf didn't last the day so I quickly had to make another. A nice, hearty, healthy bread with great taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent. I make a couple of loaves of this each week. My six year old loves it and I like it enough to eat it plain. I have a slice of it almost every morning. I use two cups of hard white whole wheat flour and a cup of processed all-purpose flour. This makes a 1 1/2 pound loaf. Works great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I love this bread.Making it by hand though I ended up having to add extra flour since the original dough was way too moist.I'll be doubling this recipe next time since the one loaf barely last 2 days.You've got to try this bread,you won't be let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States