Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Bread machine recipes never work out the first time due to varying factors. The first time I tried this recipe the dough was too weak and the bread fell. After adjusting water, yeast, and gluten, it came out perfect. My adjustments: 1 cup water 2 tsp yeast 1 tbsp gluten 1 tbsp whole flax seed Bake on whole wheat cycle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I don't have a bread machine, but following the ingredients and regular bread making techniques, the bread turned out great. No modifications made. The bread was loved by all, even my mother-in-law. Will be making again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
My bread loaf had a slight cave in the middle after baking. Technically, the liquid content is too high for the dry content. The taste was still great if you want a nutty, dense bread which is really healthy. All of which was my goal. Second time I made this bread, I increased the flour to 3 cups (2 cups stone ground whole wheat and 1 bread flour),and I always substitute powder buttermilk. Reduced the water to 1 1/4 cups. The loaf did not have the slight cave in and the taste was still great,however, I preferred the original set of ingredients. Too much water in a loaf this dense equated to a more moist bread. Definitely a recipe which I will use again. Love the 3/4 cup of Flax seed mill. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I followed Andrew's modifications and added one emergency modification of my own...I didn't have powdered milk...so I skipped the water and added 1 cup of skim milk (microwave warmed). De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
This healthy bread loaf has been accepted well by the family, including children. Like the previous rater, I two had to add 1/4 cup plain flour to the recipe so that it would rise correctly. The taste was great, not to mention the healthy use of flax seed (omega 3's) to the childrens diet as well as mine. We will use the one again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent. I make a couple of loaves of this each week. My six year old loves it and I like it enough to eat it plain. I have a slice of it almost every morning. I use two cups of hard white whole wheat flour and a cup of processed all-purpose flour. This makes a 1 1/2 pound loaf. Works great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
A soft and tasty loaf. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add 1/2 cup extra whole wheat flour; I left everything else the same. I used the 1.5 lb, "grain" setting on my bread machine. It rose to a tall, square-ish loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Like other reviewers, I had to add flour to make the dough elastic. I added more than others it seems--about 3/4 c. Like Kim (another reviewer) I don't use a bread machine, but this turned out great in an 8x4 pan in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Oh, these rolls were so good! They were my first taste of flax seed, and I was so happy with them. I added quite a bit of wheat flour to my bread machine, though, because it just wasn't elastic enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I also revised this recipe... -1/2 cup wheat flour -1/2 cup ground flax seed -2c bread flour -1/14 cups water -No gluten -1 1/4 cups water. I prepared the dough in the bread machine and pulled out after 1 1/2 hr dough process. I kneaded and twisted - then placed in a 9x5 bread tin. This bread was SO wonderful! The crust was dark and crispy - the bread was perfect for making sandwiches and tolerated thin slices. I feel good knowing that my family is getting the benefit of the flax and whole wheat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States