Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
My bread machine's motor konked out mid-knead so I had to finish the kneading off manually and cooked it in the oven. It still turned out great though! The first loaf didn't last the day so I quickly had to make another. A nice, hearty, healthy bread with great taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
A soft and tasty loaf. After reading the other reviews, I decided to add 1/2 cup extra whole wheat flour; I left everything else the same. I used the 1.5 lb, "grain" setting on my bread machine. It rose to a tall, square-ish loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
Outstanding recipe for a healthy and filling loaf of bread. People sample the sandwiches I make using the bread from this recipe and marvel at how hearty and delicious the bread is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAIRYBACKJOE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
The whole family loved this bread - even my most picky 5-year-old! I also had problem with caving, even after decreasing the amount of water. Will definitely make again...with more minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Like other reviewers, I had to add flour to make the dough elastic. I added more than others it seems--about 3/4 c. Like Kim (another reviewer) I don't use a bread machine, but this turned out great in an 8x4 pan in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
My son has had digestive problems and has used ground flax seed which has brought about an amazing change. When I viewed this recipe, I tried it and is the only one I use now. A great tasting and wonderfully textured bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Oh, these rolls were so good! They were my first taste of flax seed, and I was so happy with them. I added quite a bit of wheat flour to my bread machine, though, because it just wasn't elastic enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I don't have a bread machine, but following the ingredients and regular bread making techniques, the bread turned out great. No modifications made. The bread was loved by all, even my mother-in-law. Will be making again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I followed Andrew's modifications and added one emergency modification of my own...I didn't have powdered milk...so I skipped the water and added 1 cup of skim milk (microwave warmed). De-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Bread machine recipes never work out the first time due to varying factors. The first time I tried this recipe the dough was too weak and the bread fell. After adjusting water, yeast, and gluten, it came out perfect. My adjustments: 1 cup water 2 tsp yeast 1 tbsp gluten 1 tbsp whole flax seed Bake on whole wheat cycle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States