Wheat Bread with Flax Seed Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was exactly what I was looking for - a bread recipe that tasted good AND that my daughter with food allergies (bananas, nuts/peanuts, egg, dairy) could enjoy along with the rest of our family! I typically don't review recipes if I change them, but I will this time. I went with what other reviewers suggested and reduced the liquid to 1 cup, and I used rice millk in place of the water/milk powder combo. I did not have any wheat gluten, so I didn't use that. I increased both flours to 1 1/2 cups each. It came out nice and dense with a good crust. I anticipate this being a good toasting and sandwich bread. Everyone in our house gives this bread 2 thumbs up. Definately will be a regular in our pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Lovely texture and smell, a definite keeper for this bread connoisseur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I altered a few things, l ike less honey, added soy flour etc etc. Came out great though, except I didn't care for the crust. It's a heavy bread so a little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
After reading the previous reviews, I also made just a few adjustments. Added another 1/4 cup bread flour and added 1 additional tablespoon gluten. Came out wonderful!...great taste and consistency, nice crunchy crust and soft,springy inside. Made in bread machine. I put flax seed in my breads before, just not this much. Was pleasantly surprised with this recipe and the healthfulness. Found my new bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Flavor wise this is a 5* recipe. But direction wise this recipe is a 3*. I usually read the reviews before attempting a recipe but figured this would be no fail. Little did I know the dough would be extremely runny and I would have to add an extra 3/4 cup of flour. I wouldn't have minded if I were baking this in my bread machine, but I just used it to mix and baked the bread in the oven. I ended up having to bake this in the oven at 350 for 40 minutes and it was still to moist. So back in the oven at 375 for an additional 20 minutes. I will surely make this again, but will add less water like other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I really liked this bread probably because has a lot of flaxseed and it's dense. I omitted the wheat gluten because I didn't have any and reduced the amount of honey to 2 Tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I LOVED THIS!!!! It was by far my favorite bread recipe. SO good. I didn't use the wheat gluten, and I also didn't have dry milk powder, I just used milk instead of water. Amazing, simple, and for sure a colon cleanser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am a great believer in flax. This is a wonderful way to deliver this wholesome nutrient. The bread is lighter than most and has a nutty taste on the palate. Easy to make, lasts in a breadbox. i give it two thumbs-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Hi Sandra, I love this Flax seed bread, it is the best I have ever tasted. I don't use a bread machine and it is a little runny to kneed by hand, but it is worth the effort Thanks Violet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I also revised this recipe... -1/2 cup wheat flour -1/2 cup ground flax seed -2c bread flour -1/14 cups water -No gluten -1 1/4 cups water. I prepared the dough in the bread machine and pulled out after 1 1/2 hr dough process. I kneaded and twisted - then placed in a 9x5 bread tin. This bread was SO wonderful! The crust was dark and crispy - the bread was perfect for making sandwiches and tolerated thin slices. I feel good knowing that my family is getting the benefit of the flax and whole wheat! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States