Wheat and Barley Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very nice. Hubs insisted it smelled and tasted like bananas. I told him there were no bananas in it but he argued with me about it. I made something else with bananas today, so perhaps his taste buds were shot. I didn't think it tasted like bananas at all. I did use vanilla sugar . . .well, because I had it. Everything else I left the same. I thought this turned out to be a nice, dense bread with a light sweetness. It worked well as a complement to the carrot soup we had for dinner. I did make in crocks to make big muffins, and ended up with 4 large muffins that baked for 40 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I changed so much about this, that some may say it isn't even the same recipe! I used soy milk instead of buttermilk, 1/2 cup honey instead of the sugar, baking powder instead of the baking soda, and whole wheat flour instead of the all purpose kind. I baked it in a 9" pie pan for 1/2 hour. It is great bread! So whether this is a true review or not, I'm thankful for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
We actually made this bread as part of homeschooling...we needed to make something with barley so I thought this looked quick and easy...which it was. However we were pleasantly surprised at how GOOD it was though! SOOOOO yummy! My kids (ages 5 and 3) and hubby couldn't get enough of it. We may have made this for a project, but it will become a staple quick bread around this house! Only thing we did differently was to substitute half the white sugar with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is very easy to make. I was in such a rush, I threw everything together exactly as the recipe called. Very good for breakfast. Next time I might add dried cranberries or apples. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Nice and moist -- very easy. I was short on time and only let the cereal soak for 30 minutes, and it still seemed to come out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I made this into 12 big muffins. It is really, really good. You can't taste the Grape Nuts that much, which is a bit unfortunate, but the overall texture is a bit more coarse than regular quick breads. I put blueberries in it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This is very good, and forgiving; I forgot the baking soda (horrors) and, 5 minutes into baking, took the thing out of the oven and stirred it in...still came out fine. I used fake buttermilk (1.25 tsp lemon juice left in the milk for 10 mins on the counter) and the bread was nice and moist because of soaking the cereal in milk. Good with honey or on its own, and _very_ easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This bread is absolutely wonderful. Very versatile. I tried using half wheat flour, half white flour and it turned out just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Loved this easy no-fail bread. Will send to my friends! Excellent servied with curried pumpkin soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
An easy, delicious, and moist bread. It's a favorite of people at our church, my brother and his wife, and our neighbors. If your kids don't like it, perfect! That just means there's more healthy, yummy bread left for the adults to enjoy. Great for breakfast, especially with marionberry butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States