What the ELLE...Baked Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this and enjoyed it very much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I've never made egg rolls before, but I loved how I didn't have to fry them. I kept the sugar and I only had to cook them for about 12 minutes. I also wish I had used fresh bean sprouts since I try to not cook with canned food (with BPA,) but I have no idea where to get non-canned water chestnuts. I didn't even add the chicken, but I like how flexible this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Taste much better than deep fried. I ledt out the sugar and brushed the tops with olive oil mixed with a little fresh ginger. Sprinkled with sesame seeds. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Fun to make, yummy to eat. Needs a good dipping sauce like Asian mustard or something with ginger. Slice the water chestnuts really thin and follow the "finely diced" instructions on the chicken. I cut the carrots to 1 cup, subbed jalapeno for the bell pepper, and added sliced mushrooms (good call!). Don't spray the edges much with the cooking spray or they will get too brown/crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
These were terrific. Love baking them instead of frying. The filling adapts well to changes. For example, I used a bag of "coleslaw mix" (shredded cabbage with some carrots) instead of bean sprouts and water chestnuts. I sautéed the cabbage mix with onions, mushrooms and seasonings. Added shredded leftover chicken. Think this would work well with sausage, pork, even hamburger. I added just a bit of sesame oil to the cornstarch mixture. Lots of room for personal tastes without losing the intent of the original recipe. I did use the cooking spray and my Silpat sheet. Would like to try brushing on some peanut oil instead. Did not add the sugar, since we served with sweet and sour sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I tweaked this quite a bit on everything but the sauce. I used a Rainbow bagged salad with what I thought was shredded cabbage, red cabbage, broccoli, and carrots. It was actually shredded cauliflower, red cabbage, carrots, and broccoli florets. Oh well, still put it in there. No sprouts or chestnuts(forgot them at the store). I also used roasted peppers. This is the same as the TOH recipe I always used, and I still love it! So easy and tasty for a quick meal. I made a mayo, coarse mustard, and dijon dipping sauce for it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe for girls night an it was such a great choice! It's become a favourite amongst my family and friends. We made the recipe with spring roll wrappers instead of egg roll wrappers and it made almost 40 spring rolls. I also made them with fresh ingredients as well, I thought it might be a little better. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
We enjoyed the idea of baking these instead of frying for a healthier version. Egg Roll filling always reminds me of soup... add whatever you like or what you have on hand. I did skip the sugar; added some finely shredded cabbage, fresh grated ginger, bamboo shoots, and bean threads instead of bean sprouts. Turned them over half way thru baking, watch the timing. Served these with homemade Plum Sauce from this site. These made a very nice, tasty meal for Chinese New Year. Thanks for sharing, HoneyBooBoo. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great basic recipe-- I was pleasantly surprised with the results of oven frying in this recipe. However I preferred to skip the cans and use fresh ingredients such as grated cabbage and bean sprouts. Instead of sugar, I used a bit of sweet chili sauce. I also made a dipping sauce of soy sauce, sesame oil, sesame seeds and sweet chili sauce and we enjoyed these for the main meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Pretty tasty - much healthier than frying. Next time I would leave the sugar out - it made the filling just a tad too sweet for me. I might add a little fresh ginger along with the garlic. Mine took about 20 minutes - turning after 10 minutes. Keep an eye on them - they can go from just right to too brown in moments. Thanks for the recipe Elle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Baked Chicken Nuggets

See how to make a tasty appetizer that’s also a real kid-pleaser.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States