Wet Burrito Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I, like Jordan, am from Grand Rapids and moved to Atlanta. When I saw Jordan's last name, I knew I had to try this. I made it exactly as designed, hoping to recreate the famous B*ltl*n* B*r wet burrito. If you've had it you probably know that you can't find this anywhere else but in West Michigan. It did not disappoint! Yes, it's the gravy. What a surprise. To be sure, this recipe is not designed to be a Texas burrito, or a California burrito, and we got a kick out of some of the comments that tried to make this something that it wasn't designed for. This is the West Michigan wet burrito. It is heavy and delicious! This is the best attempt I've run across to duplicate it. Three of us down here in Atlanta, all native West Michigan, gave this 5 stars and two thumbs up. That being said, we are going to experiment a little going forward. We don't want to change the flavor, it's excellent and as designed! We think there might be a little more beef and a little less bean. This recipe turned out a little less dry than the real thing at B*ltl*n* and so I may try overcooking the beef and leaving the juice out of the diced tomatoes in the beef mixture. Finally, we are going to try putting the lettuce, tomato, and onion in the burrito, putting all of the cheese outside, and then do a low broil instead of baking. We will keep all of you West Michiganders posted. Thanks Jordan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family loved it the only thing is that some of them wanted thyme instead of oregano and real pinto beans instead of refried ones. I did not even get one, I took mind out while I was cooking. love Michele.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I didn't change a thing other than add some salt. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I Made this tonight and it was delicious! My husband went back for seconds and said "freeze the rest and I will take with me." (He is a truck driver and cooks all his own meals or heats up what I have cooked while he is on the road.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Neese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I was very skeptical at first, but it came together. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is the wet burrito recipe I have been trying to find/figure out forever! So the trick was a jar of beef gravy!?!?! I've tried so many different things and could never get the sauce to taste right! Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Following the recipe to a "T", the meat is bland. I ended up adding a heavy dose of taco seasoning...at the very least, add salt. I LOVE cumin but it did not go well in the refried beans. The "gravy" was very good on it's own but once it was on the burrito, all of the flavors just fell flat. This won't be a repeat here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I follow the recipe pretty close as far as ingredients, but since it's just the two of us, I make the burritos individually. I buy large burritos shells, fill them to our likings, pour the sauce over top, sprinkle with cheese then warm in the microwave. This way we can each choose what we like for fillings & toppings. In my opinion the recipe for the sauce is far far better than the other recipe with over 700 reviews! I've made these w/ shredded beef, chicken, and ground beef. All great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was a really good recipe. I did make a few changes to it, one was setting it to 4 servings. I used turkey instead of ground beef. I added 1/2 can chopped green peppers to the meat. I didn't have gravy, so I used dry poultry gravy to make 1.5 c. Even trying to fill the tortillas, I have enough to make additional so I'm going to freeze the left over meat and sauce. This really made me think of my favorite Mexican restaurant. Moving to Family Favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATZ63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Seasoned beef-and-bean burritos smothered with enchilada sauce.

Burrito Pie

This spicy casserole features layers of seasoned beef, beans, and cheese.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States