Wet-Bottom Shoofly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
A very good recipe- my family is Pennsylvania Dutch in heritage, though we now live near Philadelphia. This is like the Dutchies make it! I was successful using 1 cup molasses (Brer Rabbit brand makes a full flavor, which I like, and mild flavor for those who want a tamer version) instead of the 1/2 molasses, 1/2 corn syrup blend. I have never krown a PA Dutchie to use corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2000
No doubt a true PA Dutch staple. One bite and I was immediately taken back to my home town in Berks County. Molasses (blackstrap is preferred) is the key ingrediant... Also, a variation that my folks use is "Turkey Syrup" rather than corn syrup - - - I have never been able to find it though outside of Berks or Lancaster counties. Thanks Bea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I came across this website and thought this recipe seemed quite easy and that it would come out pretty good-- no way! I used the other reviewer's advice and added extra shortening to the crumb mixture and was using blackstrap molasses as well but it turned into a molasses goo. Did anyone else have this problem? This is my FIRST disgraceful baking experience of all my 12 or so years baking many different recipes!! I've moved on to find a more authentic Pennsylvania Dutch recipe for shoo-fly pie, if I find a good one I'll post it on here.... I give this recipe 2 thumbs down! Suzie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
There crumbs are all used to top the pie in a real Pa. Dutch pie. They are not mixed with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I've made numerous recipes for Shoofly Pie and this one was easy and turned out great! wonderful treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This recipe is awesome. I have been looking for a traditional Shoo-Fly pie, and this is it! The only thing that I would change is to add more shortening to make the crumbs, especially if you don't have a pastry cutter. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
my family is pa dutch as are all of our neighbors. where i come from it is imperative for a woman to know how to make the very best of the traditional pa dutch foods. i make one of the best shoo flies in the county nd i use this recipe(with a few minor changes). thankyou for posting this recipe ....btw..if you mess this recipe up then you should probably work on your baking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this recipe several different times, I need to know if the crust is supose to absorb the molasses mixture? That looks to me like the pie burnt. Is that why it is called Wet bottom? I find it hard to cut it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This tasted nothing like the shoofly pie I had in PA. I ended up throwing it in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mistergcoffee
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
what's the purpose of trying to 'layer' the crumbs when they sit on top of the liquid as you pour through? I ended up with a thick floury crumb layer on the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States