Westrup Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
a flavorful bread, soft and not crumbly. Keeps very well; freezes well. Unprocessed bran might be used instead of wheat germ for even more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by We B Hermits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! Finally a whole wheat bread recipe that is good for us and tastes great! It is a huge recipe so I am looking forward to eatting my yummy bread for awhile. No problem though, I just sliced it and then stuck it in freezer! Thanks Shannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Good and wholesome. Bread has good flavour. Have added some sunflower seed and it taste good. Planning to replace brown sugar with honey instead. Anyone know of the right proportion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Wow! Light, delicious, and hearty bread. I turned one of the three loaves into cinnamon swirl bread with great results. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I couldn't truthfully say how many bread recipes I have tried saved or gathered. I put the "WESTRUP W. W. BREAD" in a class I'll call, for the sake of a better answer "Maine Fine Wheat Breads", To put what I'm trying to say in two words of today's worldy terms, "It Rocks" Thanks !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Great recipe. Light yet filling. I actually thought I'd done something wrong when making it because the dough was so "tough." I had to add extra water and then knead by hand because it was stopping my Kitchen Aid (has never happened before). Turned out great though. Will know what to expect next time - I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I'm just getting my feet into making breads, This one so far has been the best one for me. But i may be getting better at it. My ace in the hole is my friend across the street from me she's been cooking for a long time and gives me pointers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Nasuta
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OK, I have to agree with the rest, this is a great bread recipe. I really didn't make major changes either. I didn't have any wheat bran, so I used oat bran, also I don't care for sesame seeds so I used flax seeds. Everyone loved the taste and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I halved this recipe and made it in the bread machine on the whole wheat cycle. It made a nice large loaf with good texture. I enjoy the hearty taste, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't have powdered milk - so I substituted the water for 1% Milk and omitted the powdered milk. I made it into 2 freeform loaves and 1 loaf pan. This is absoulutly delicious!! A great sandwich bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States