Westrup Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
a flavorful bread, soft and not crumbly. Keeps very well; freezes well. Unprocessed bran might be used instead of wheat germ for even more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by We B Hermits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I halved this recipe and made it in the bread machine on the whole wheat cycle. It made a nice large loaf with good texture. I enjoy the hearty taste, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Wow! Light, delicious, and hearty bread. I turned one of the three loaves into cinnamon swirl bread with great results. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OK, I have to agree with the rest, this is a great bread recipe. I really didn't make major changes either. I didn't have any wheat bran, so I used oat bran, also I don't care for sesame seeds so I used flax seeds. Everyone loved the taste and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I couldn't truthfully say how many bread recipes I have tried saved or gathered. I put the "WESTRUP W. W. BREAD" in a class I'll call, for the sake of a better answer "Maine Fine Wheat Breads", To put what I'm trying to say in two words of today's worldy terms, "It Rocks" Thanks !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I didn't have powdered milk - so I substituted the water for 1% Milk and omitted the powdered milk. I made it into 2 freeform loaves and 1 loaf pan. This is absoulutly delicious!! A great sandwich bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is a very GOOD bread. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I was very disappointed with this- It was by far the worst bread I have ever made!! Something obviously went wrong since everyone else seemed to rave about this... Consistency was near perfect at the end of step 2, but adding the extra flour just dried it out and made it tough to work with! I had to and some extra water and didn't even bother to add the last 1c of flour. The dough was way too dense and it never even rised!! I baked it and it still didn't rise it just turned out like a brick! I did taste it and it tasted alright... I have never made bread with vital wheat gluten before so I did some research and I think that 1/2c was too much, there should have only been 4 tsp per loaf which would have translated to 1/4c of gluten! Also I think the flour needs to be cut by 1-2c... Since it is a wheat recipe I would suggest cutting the bread flour by this amount... I will try this again, only as a base but I will definitely only be making one loaf as per the modifications I already stated, and maybe some more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is a good bread. I like the fact that it makes 3 loaves and they are tasty. The only problem is that the dough is very dense and as a result the bread turns out less moist than I like. This does not, however, take away from its wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
A most excellant bread. Wonderful to slice, sweetly nutty flavor. Just the right crunch. Dense, but light at the same time. This recipe is a keeper. Makes terrific sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willowick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States