Westrup Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
a flavorful bread, soft and not crumbly. Keeps very well; freezes well. Unprocessed bran might be used instead of wheat germ for even more fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This is a very GOOD bread. Healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Good and wholesome. Bread has good flavour. Have added some sunflower seed and it taste good. Planning to replace brown sugar with honey instead. Anyone know of the right proportion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Wow! Light, delicious, and hearty bread. I turned one of the three loaves into cinnamon swirl bread with great results. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This makes a beautiful loaf of bread, but it is totally uninteresting. No character and no real flavor. Just beautiful, even-textured, good-for-you bread. I am going to make it again very soon, but I'm planning on kneading in some chopped nuts for texture, increasing the salt a tiny bit, and adding some molasses for a more intense flavor. I'll post results if it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I couldn't truthfully say how many bread recipes I have tried saved or gathered. I put the "WESTRUP W. W. BREAD" in a class I'll call, for the sake of a better answer "Maine Fine Wheat Breads", To put what I'm trying to say in two words of today's worldy terms, "It Rocks" Thanks !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Great recipe. Light yet filling. I actually thought I'd done something wrong when making it because the dough was so "tough." I had to add extra water and then knead by hand because it was stopping my Kitchen Aid (has never happened before). Turned out great though. Will know what to expect next time - I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum! Finally a whole wheat bread recipe that is good for us and tastes great! It is a huge recipe so I am looking forward to eatting my yummy bread for awhile. No problem though, I just sliced it and then stuck it in freezer! Thanks Shannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This is a good bread. I like the fact that it makes 3 loaves and they are tasty. The only problem is that the dough is very dense and as a result the bread turns out less moist than I like. This does not, however, take away from its wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
OK, I have to agree with the rest, this is a great bread recipe. I really didn't make major changes either. I didn't have any wheat bran, so I used oat bran, also I don't care for sesame seeds so I used flax seeds. Everyone loved the taste and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LyekkaMarengo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States