Western Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My family loves this salad, even my daughther who will not eat dressing on salad! I do not put the chips and dressing on until time to serve. I use romaine lettuce, other than that I pretty much follow as written. It does make a very large salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is an interesting & delicious salad option! Our HyVee had the beans so the recipe was extremely easy to pull together. I made this 2 different times & preferred the salad with Spicy Doritos--added a nice touch. This salad will be my secret weapon for potlucks from now on--especially since I hate it when there are 4 of the same kinds of dishes. Try this salad, it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly goooood! I didn't have cucumbers, green onion or radishes but it still turned out great. I wish I wouldn't have poured the whole bottle of ranch on the salad because I don't like so much dressing on my salads. I used Doritos nacho-flavored chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
With all the vegetables and chopping required, this salad was just too much work. The ratio of vegetables to lettuce was off (too many veggies, not enough lettuce) - didn't seem like a "salad." Not a bad taste, but not memorable and not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
HUGE salad. But quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I make a similar version of this, but its more of a main dish. I brown hamburger and toss it with the ranch style beans, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, black olives, green peppers, ranch, shredded cheese and Doritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Healthy with an interesting spin! Served this with a Southern Living lentil burrito recipe and Mexican Rice III from this website. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Too much work! Decent salad though. I used normal tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Much better than I thought it would be. After I made it, I thought this is just another salad, but the different vegetables went together really well. I made a few substitutions: used finely chopped sweet onion, spring mix lettuce, and chili beans, no radishes. Made a great meal salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I've had this in my recipe box for ages, but haven't made as I never seen Ranch-style beans. I found them in Meijer last week. This salad is absolutely outstanding! I omitted the green bell pepper as I don't like it raw, and pretty much just eyeballed the other ingredients. We loved it. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States