Western Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
My family loves this salad, even my daughther who will not eat dressing on salad! I do not put the chips and dressing on until time to serve. I use romaine lettuce, other than that I pretty much follow as written. It does make a very large salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is an interesting & delicious salad option! Our HyVee had the beans so the recipe was extremely easy to pull together. I made this 2 different times & preferred the salad with Spicy Doritos--added a nice touch. This salad will be my secret weapon for potlucks from now on--especially since I hate it when there are 4 of the same kinds of dishes. Try this salad, it's worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly goooood! I didn't have cucumbers, green onion or radishes but it still turned out great. I wish I wouldn't have poured the whole bottle of ranch on the salad because I don't like so much dressing on my salads. I used Doritos nacho-flavored chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
With all the vegetables and chopping required, this salad was just too much work. The ratio of vegetables to lettuce was off (too many veggies, not enough lettuce) - didn't seem like a "salad." Not a bad taste, but not memorable and not easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
HUGE salad. But quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I make a similar version of this, but its more of a main dish. I brown hamburger and toss it with the ranch style beans, lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, black olives, green peppers, ranch, shredded cheese and Doritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Healthy with an interesting spin! Served this with a Southern Living lentil burrito recipe and Mexican Rice III from this website. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Too much work! Decent salad though. I used normal tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Much better than I thought it would be. After I made it, I thought this is just another salad, but the different vegetables went together really well. I made a few substitutions: used finely chopped sweet onion, spring mix lettuce, and chili beans, no radishes. Made a great meal salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I've had this in my recipe box for ages, but haven't made as I never seen Ranch-style beans. I found them in Meijer last week. This salad is absolutely outstanding! I omitted the green bell pepper as I don't like it raw, and pretty much just eyeballed the other ingredients. We loved it. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States