Western North Carolina Vinegar Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Loved it! Sweet, spicey and sour, just the way I like it! added a touch more lemon and red pepper flakes though. Overall outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is the only decent recipe I've found for Carolina BBQ sauce. I followed the recipe exactly. Since I live in a highrise (11 stories up) I can't grill in any way, so I slow cook a pork roast with a can of beer and, when done, use this sauce--heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Made this for shredded pork and served it on hard rolls with creamy cole slaw. It was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this recipe for whole hogs, butts, chicken,and wings. I omit the mustard powder, use Texas Pete, instead of Tabasco, and use fresh lemon slices instead of the juice. I heat it to infuse the flavors, as directed above. I seldom strain or refrigerate before using, especially when mopping a whole hog. When using on chicken, I make enough so I can dip the chicken rather than basting them, due to the sauce being thin. It creates some waste, but since this is easy to make, I don't worry about it. Since it doesn't burn on the grill, you can dip the chicken/wings as many times as you want depending on the amount of heat you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Since moving to North Carolina my immediate family and I have grown to love the vinegar base bbq. When going to visit family in California I wanted to share the taste with them. They absolutely LOVED this with pulled pork! I used 1 teaspoon ground red pepper and it was great. Not too spicy, but it definitely had some spunk still. Thank you for putting this on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe needs to be renamed to EASTERN NC BBQ! North Carolina has two TOTALLY different types of BBQ-and this one is not Western style! Western NC hates Eastern BBQ and vice versa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love this sauce! Great if you like NC vinegar based barbeque. I stick to the recipe and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I changed a few things, but it was as close to home as I can get in Southern Arizona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really made my pulled pork zippy. A flavorful thin vinegar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is awesome! I've always wanted to try N.Carolina Vinegar style BBQ sauce - I will probably make this at least a couple times a month!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States