Western North Carolina Vinegar Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I failed to notice that it was to be refrigerated for two days so I didn't serve it at my big pulled pork barbecue dinner. When I told my guests they asked for the homemade sauce and then raved about it. One guest even took a pint of the sauce home. No one even opened the bottled sauce on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I was raised in N. Carolina and this is just like I remembered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis Schultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My husband LOVED this recipe! I did not use the red pepper flakes because I didn't have any, but otherwise made recipe as stated. Thank you! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess.church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I used unsalted butter and scaled this up to make a gallon. I needed that much to used as a mop sauce for a 65 pound pig that we roasted for the 4th of July. What a hit! Perfect combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I don't like sweet bbq sauce, so this one is perfect! The first time I left out the sugar, but have added it everytime since. My family is crazy about it, too! We love this on chicken, but will use for pork, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a basting, serving, dipping sauce. I use it when I do anything on the rotissore because it doesn't burn and can be used from start to finish for poultry or pork. It does not have to be refrigerated for two days but I do it to let the red pepper flakes infuse the sauce before I strain them out. You don't have to strain them out but I like to put the sauce in plastic squeeze bottle so the seeds don't clog up the spout when I baste. Like Grammy Sue stated, You can customize this recipe any way you like to PS If you don't want use the red pepper flakes then use 2 tsp of hot or mild new mexico chile powder. You will not have to strain the sauce if you use the powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is not bad for EASTERN NC BBQ sauce - but as someone who has lived all my life in western NC, I can tell you that the traditional sauce in this part of the state will never have vinegar in it. I used "Texas Pete" hot sauce (another western NC product!)instead of Tabasco, and added a lot more than the recipe called for. I also eliminated the lemon juice. My family is used to the western NC sweet, tomato based sauces, I was afraid that vinegar plus lemon juice would be too, too much! This sauce works well for grilling and marinating - I used it on chicken - but since it is thin, you need to baste often to make sure the flavor is even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
My husband went to school in NC and he really enjoyed this recipe. It's a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I would eliminate brown sugar and ketchup entirely. There's not enough lemon juice to matter, so increase it substantially, or eliminate it as well. Most will say it needs more hot sauce. Instructions for using vinegar sauce are missing. Suggestion: slow cook fresh pork (any way you want), and then pull. Finally, add sauce and toss like a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I've been using this recipe for years and it's always been easy to prepare and well liked. The best thing about it is that one can "customize" it by using their favorite "heat" (pepper sauce) so that it is as hot or mild as one wishes. One suggestion is to ALWAYS make enough to have extra for dipping or spreading on the finished meat. Once your guests taste it, they'll crave more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States