Western North Carolina Vinegar Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Loved it! Sweet, spicey and sour, just the way I like it! added a touch more lemon and red pepper flakes though. Overall outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This is the only decent recipe I've found for Carolina BBQ sauce. I followed the recipe exactly. Since I live in a highrise (11 stories up) I can't grill in any way, so I slow cook a pork roast with a can of beer and, when done, use this sauce--heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Made this for shredded pork and served it on hard rolls with creamy cole slaw. It was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this recipe for whole hogs, butts, chicken,and wings. I omit the mustard powder, use Texas Pete, instead of Tabasco, and use fresh lemon slices instead of the juice. I heat it to infuse the flavors, as directed above. I seldom strain or refrigerate before using, especially when mopping a whole hog. When using on chicken, I make enough so I can dip the chicken rather than basting them, due to the sauce being thin. It creates some waste, but since this is easy to make, I don't worry about it. Since it doesn't burn on the grill, you can dip the chicken/wings as many times as you want depending on the amount of heat you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Since moving to North Carolina my immediate family and I have grown to love the vinegar base bbq. When going to visit family in California I wanted to share the taste with them. They absolutely LOVED this with pulled pork! I used 1 teaspoon ground red pepper and it was great. Not too spicy, but it definitely had some spunk still. Thank you for putting this on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe needs to be renamed to EASTERN NC BBQ! North Carolina has two TOTALLY different types of BBQ-and this one is not Western style! Western NC hates Eastern BBQ and vice versa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Love this sauce! Great if you like NC vinegar based barbeque. I stick to the recipe and it is always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I changed a few things, but it was as close to home as I can get in Southern Arizona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really made my pulled pork zippy. A flavorful thin vinegar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is awesome! I've always wanted to try N.Carolina Vinegar style BBQ sauce - I will probably make this at least a couple times a month!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States