West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was very good. However, we prefer the Colorado buffalo chili recipe from this site (with our modifications). The only thing I did differently was that I used canned beans. We liked the addition of zucchini. It seems like the meat could use a bit of seasoning while it's cooking. This dirtied a lot of pots, but it was tasty. I'm curious if it would taste as good in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great meal, will have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Making half a recipe - used one can black and one can kidney beans, Left out chili sauce. Cooked meat, onions and peppers on stove top.. then everything in crockpot for 6 hours. Superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a big big hit at my house! Had just the right amount of spiciness and I really enjoyed the zucchini. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I just made this last night, however I substituted dry beans for canned beans, and wow, what a chili this is. I am very impressed. Will def. make it again, and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is our goto chili recipe, I've been making it for years, but have never reviewed it. I've made it both with buffalo and ground beef instead. I too use canned beans most often (I can never remember to soak the beans the night before). The only reason I'm giving this four stars is that without four or so garlic cloves and some cumin, it is definitely missing some layers of flavor. BTW I have sauteed the ground beef and put everything in the crock pot with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The buffalo tastes excellent. This recipe could use a little more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a flavorful recipe. I added 1/2 t. of ground cumin and extra crushed red peppers. My husband loved the zucchini in the recipe. I used one can each of red kidney, black and white northern beans. It made the chili very colorful. I will share this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this on the stove top rather than the crock pot due to time restraints. Let it simmer about 3 hours and it was great. My husband called it a "hearty chili" because it was so thick. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have made this a few times now and everyone loves it. I follow the recipe exactly and wouldn;t change a thing - I do add a tiny bit of sour cream in my own bowl but it is great without it. It is too spicy for my mom and a few others but this is my dad's favorite too so thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States