West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Making half a recipe - used one can black and one can kidney beans, Left out chili sauce. Cooked meat, onions and peppers on stove top.. then everything in crockpot for 6 hours. Superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a big big hit at my house! Had just the right amount of spiciness and I really enjoyed the zucchini. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I just made this last night, however I substituted dry beans for canned beans, and wow, what a chili this is. I am very impressed. Will def. make it again, and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is our goto chili recipe, I've been making it for years, but have never reviewed it. I've made it both with buffalo and ground beef instead. I too use canned beans most often (I can never remember to soak the beans the night before). The only reason I'm giving this four stars is that without four or so garlic cloves and some cumin, it is definitely missing some layers of flavor. BTW I have sauteed the ground beef and put everything in the crock pot with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The buffalo tastes excellent. This recipe could use a little more spice though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a flavorful recipe. I added 1/2 t. of ground cumin and extra crushed red peppers. My husband loved the zucchini in the recipe. I used one can each of red kidney, black and white northern beans. It made the chili very colorful. I will share this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Made this on the stove top rather than the crock pot due to time restraints. Let it simmer about 3 hours and it was great. My husband called it a "hearty chili" because it was so thick. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have made this a few times now and everyone loves it. I follow the recipe exactly and wouldn;t change a thing - I do add a tiny bit of sour cream in my own bowl but it is great without it. It is too spicy for my mom and a few others but this is my dad's favorite too so thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Love, love, love this recipe. I use canned beans vs. dried beans, leave out the zucchini, add 1 can of green chilis, and use the entire jar of salsa. I also put it in the crock pot in the AM on low and it is perfect at dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Mmm, good chili! The zucchini goes wonderfully with the other flavors, I would never had thought of adding it to chili. I used canned beans, and added water to a small can of tomato paste in place of the tomato sauce. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder,(out of habit), and had to skip the jalepeno pepper,(we are spice wimps). I will be using this recipe for chili from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States