West Texas-Style Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Making half a recipe - used one can black and one can kidney beans, Left out chili sauce. Cooked meat, onions and peppers on stove top.. then everything in crockpot for 6 hours. Superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I used canned beans, which reduced the cooking time significantly. This is a very yummy and very easy chili recipe. Make sure you have sour cream on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I made this for a Sunday afternoon football watching gathering, and everyone LOVED it! We decided to double the recipe to feed the masses, in doing so we doubled all ingredients except: both types of beans (I used 1 can of each instead of dry), zucchini, and I omitted the bell peppers entirely. Great flavor, my husband said to never make another kind of chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Impressive!!!Our neighborhood community had a chili cook off and I won 1st place ($75 prize) using this receipe.I did use canned black beans/kidney beans to save time. Whole Foods does sell buffalo meat but a $1.+ & I was able to find the meat @ a reg.grocery store. My chili was completely gone at the end of our community chili cook off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We made a double batch, added two habenero peppers, and mixed in some venison. We served it to our Southern CA church people. They LOVED it! We didn't tell them until afterward that it had both buffalo and deer in it. They were shocked that game could taste this good! We didn't even get to take any home with us, because they ate it ALL! We're making it again for Monday Night Football. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Mmm, good chili! The zucchini goes wonderfully with the other flavors, I would never had thought of adding it to chili. I used canned beans, and added water to a small can of tomato paste in place of the tomato sauce. I added about a tsp. of garlic powder,(out of habit), and had to skip the jalepeno pepper,(we are spice wimps). I will be using this recipe for chili from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Love, love, love this recipe. I use canned beans vs. dried beans, leave out the zucchini, add 1 can of green chilis, and use the entire jar of salsa. I also put it in the crock pot in the AM on low and it is perfect at dinner time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have made this a few times now and everyone loves it. I follow the recipe exactly and wouldn;t change a thing - I do add a tiny bit of sour cream in my own bowl but it is great without it. It is too spicy for my mom and a few others but this is my dad's favorite too so thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This is a flavorful recipe. I added 1/2 t. of ground cumin and extra crushed red peppers. My husband loved the zucchini in the recipe. I used one can each of red kidney, black and white northern beans. It made the chili very colorful. I will share this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a big big hit at my house! Had just the right amount of spiciness and I really enjoyed the zucchini. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States